by | Nov 29, 2020 | SSA Super Sedans, WA

Image by Team Carnage Media

Newly crowned Western Australian Champion Gary “Dusty” Higgs was the dominate force during Round One of the 2020/2021 WA Super Sedan Summer Series held last night at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway in the South West of Western Australia.

Higgs won all three races that he contested on the night with the driver of the RPM Race Products Sweet seemingly in full control of the twenty lap A Main until a late race challenge by third generation pilot Lee Aylett.

Nine SSA Super Sedans were in attendance at the “Timbertown” venue with each driver competitor contesting two of the three heat races across the evening.

Chris Pavlovich aboard his Southern Haulage Sweet was the only other driver than Higgs to greet the chequered flag first, with track conditions ideally suited to the Super Sedan category.In the early laps of the main event, Higgs got out to over a six second leader over the chasing Lee Aylett with Pavlovich back in third.

Rob Knox would hand fourth place to Kevin Bell after a spin on the back straight as the leader began to lap traffic.

Within sight of the finish Higgs would make contact with the back of Kemble Aylett as he attempted to lap the veteran competitor with the gap between Higgs and Lee Aylett shrinking from that point on.

Lee Aylett had one opportunity to steal victory as he went to the outside in turn three on the final circulation riding over the right rear tyre of the leader as Higgs managed to hold on narrowly from Aylett and Pavlovich.

The second round of the 2020/2021 WA Super Sedan Summer Series will be held at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway on Saturday 19th December 2020.

Official Results

Heat One, Eight Laps: 1. W1 Gary Higgs, 2. W68 Rob Knox, 3. W4 Lee Aylett, 4. W5 Kevin Bell, 5. W10 Kyle Larson, 6. W91 Darren Larson. Total Time: 2.23.876. Winning Margin: 0.804. Fastest Lap: 17.338 W1 Gary Higgs.

Heat Two, Eight Laps: 1. W8 Chris Pavovich, 2. W9 Kemble Aylett, 3. W68 Rob Knox, 4. W91 Darren Larson. DNS: W10 Kyle Larson, W16 Damo Wallinger. Total Time: 2.25.456. Winning Margin: 6.103. Fastest Lap: 17.830 W8 Chris Pavlovich.

Heat Three, Eight Laps: 1. W1 Gary Higgs, 2. W4 Lee Aylett, 3. W9 Kemble Aylett, 4. W8 Chris Pavlovich. DNF: W5 Kevin Bell (7). DNS: W16 Damo Wallinger. Total Time: 2.22.127. Winning Margin: 4.359. Fastest Lap: 17.428 W1 Gary Higgs.

Feature Race, 20 laps:1. W1 Gary Higgs, 2. W4 Lee Aylett, 3. W8 Chris Pavlovich, 4. W5 Kevin Bell, 5. W68 Rob Knox, 6. W9 Kemble Aylett, 7. W91 Darren Larson (18). DNF: W10 Kyle Larson (18). DNS: W16 Damo Wallinger. Total Time: 5.56.169. Winning Margin: 0.913. Fastest Lap: 17.249 W1 Gary Higgs.

The 2020/2021 WA Super Sedan Summer Series is proudly supported by:

Trade Hire

Australind Pizza & Takeaway

Super Motor Spares

Southern Haulage Industries

RPM Race Products