Herbert Takes Action Packed Modified Sedan Main Event

by | Nov 5, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Brad Herbert has taken out his second Modified Sedan A Main in as many weeks, when he won an entertaining and action packed event at the Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway on Saturday night.

After the four qualifying heats which saw Nathan Russell, Craig Williams, Trent Quillerat and Luke Gunn all claim victory, it was always going to be a highly competitive main event. Sadly for Russell and Quillerat made contact coming out of turn two in a hectic start, resulting in Nathan Russell hitting the fence, which also eliminated Quillerat.

Craig Williams took the lead thereafter, leading Luke Gunn and Andy Russell. On lap eleven the suspension broke on Russells car, while Luke Gunns car caught fire.

Williams would all of a sudden lead Brad McKendrick, who started from the fifth row, with the former Street Stock driver now right behind Williams, while Brad Herbert who started from positon seven, now third.

There would be a further twist in the tale, with Craig Williams getting a flat tyre with six laps remaining as Herbert also passed McKendrick, putting Herbert into the lead.

McKendrick chased Herbert through the concluding stages, with Herbert winning by a car length, recording his second win in as many weeks, while Joshua Marston who started from position ten, would finish third ahead of Jake Taurian and Joshua Stephens.

I am absolutely stoked, said Herbert after his win.

:: Modified Sedans

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T28 Nathan Russell, 2. T4 Barry Youl, 3. T37 Luke Williams, 4. T23 Paul Quillerat, 5. T46 Trent Quillerat, 6. T27 Joshua Marston, 7. T7 Keith Blair. DNF: 8. T3 Tomas Hext (5), 9. T63 Brad McKendrick (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.260, Fastest Lap: 18.502 T28 Nathan Russell

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T17 Craig Williams, 2. T26 Andy Russell, 3. T32 Jake Taurian, 4. T22 Luke Gunn, 5. T21 Joshua Stephens, 6. T8 Brad Palmer. DNF: 7. T5 Brad Herbert (5), 8. T64 Adrian Jones (5). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.784, Fastest Lap: 17.364 T17 Craig Williams

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T46 Trent Quillerat, 2. T63 Brad McKendrick, 3. T28 Nathan Russell, 4. T4 Barry Youl, 5. T27 Joshua Marston, 6. T23 Paul Quillerat, 7. T7 Keith Blair, 8. T3 Tomas Hext (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.738, Fastest Lap: 17.074 T46 Trent Quillerat

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. T22 Luke Gunn, 2. T5 Brad Herbert, 3. T17 Craig Williams, 4. T26 Andy Russell, 5. T32 Jake Taurian, 6. T21 Joshua Stephens, 7. T64 Adrian Jones. Time: 2.54.926, Winning Margin: 0.341, Fastest Lap: 17.036 T5 Brad Herbert

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. T5 Brad Herbert, 2. T63 Brad McKendrick, 3. T27 Joshua Marston, 4. T32 Jake Taurian, 5. T21 Joshua Stephens, 6. T23 Paul Quillerat, 7. T64 Adrian Jones. DNF: 8. T17 Craig Williams (15), 9. T22 Luke Gunn (11), 10. T26 Andy Russell (11), 11. T4 Barry Youl (7), 12. T7 Keith Blair (6), 13. T3 Tomas Hext (0), 14. T28 Nathan Russell (0), 15. T46 Trent Quillerat (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.860, Fastest Lap: 16.525 T17 Craig Williams

Brad Herbert in his third Modified Sedan A Main, has now won twice. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography