Herbert Dominates Opening Night

by | Aug 30, 2017 | Latest News

Author : SSA

Peter Herbert has tonight dominated night one of the Brett Johnson Memorial at Nickol Bay Speedway in Karratha, winning all four of his heats and then leading every lap of the fifteen lap preliminary feature.

Albany local Herbert would start on the front row of the preliminary feature alongside his namesake, in local boy Matt Herbert. Peter would get the initial jump, while Matt Herbert and third place starter Jake Hoath (after initial third place man Paul Joss was unable to start) would go right with him.

Matt Herbert and Hoath would shortly after touch ever so slightly, Hoath moving low and even getting a sniff under leader Peter Herbert before he pulled away.

A few cars came together coming out of four which would lead to Steve Griffiths retiring from the race, but up front it was all Peter Herbert, holding strong with Hoath chasing hard. Matt Herbert was just behind them holding off Craig Clayton, Rowan Drysdale and Russell Gunn who were all fighing hard, the top seven pulling away in a high speed freight train

Peter Herbert set the quickest lap five of the night on lap five and was able to open up a one second gap on Hoath, then went faster again with a 20.471 the lap after.

Hoath, Matt Herbert and Clayton found themselves entrenched in a battle for second and with the moon rising over the back straight Herbert would once again go quicker, this time with a 20.417 on lap eight.

Herbert would then encounter lapped traffic on lap ten as Matt Herbert began looking for a way under Hoath. It would all amount to nil though as Herbert, despite losing oil pressure in the last lap, raced away to win by over four seconds, defeating Hoath and Matt Herbert in a great battle.

Bunbury local Wayne Thomson was another who like Joss was unable to start the feature despite thrashing to get the car ready in time, with both claiming heat wins in the opening round along with Herbert. Bradley Minshull, Matt Herbert and Rowan Drysdale would also get heat victories while Craig Clayton, Peter Herbert and Paul Joss claimed multiple wins across the first nights twelve heats.

Racing continues tomorrow with another three rounds of heats before the all-important 25 lap final. Gates will once again open at 5.30pm, with racing from 6.30pm.

Live results will be posted on the DTN Facebook page and SSA Facebook page throughout the night, along with articles after both nights of racing.

Release by DTN Media.

Street Stock Preliminary Feature – 15 laps: 1. W44 Peter Herbert, 2. W29 Jake Hoath, 3. W42 Matt Herbert, 4. W35 Craig Clayton, 5. W72 Russell Gunn, 6. W11 Rowan Drysdale, 7. W32 Ben Ferris, 8. W39 Alan Couper, 9. W47 Brad Wilde, 10. W89 Brett Dohnt, 11. W7 Clint Marks, 12. W27 Scott Wilde (14). DNF: W41 Leanne Couper (9), W23 Steve Griffiths (0). DNS: W9 Steve O�Dowd, W15 Wayne Thomson, W17 Bradley Minshull, W69 Paul Joss. Total Time: 5.10.984. Winning Margin: 4.309. Fastest Lap: 20.417 W44 Peter Herbert.

Street Stock Points After Night One

1. W44 Peter Herbert 144
2. W42 Matt Herbert 115
3. W69 Paul Joss 110
4. W72 Russell Gunn 107
5. W29 Jake Hoath 102
6. W35 Craig Clayton 99
7. W11 Rowan Drysdale 95
8. W39 Alan Couper 78
9. W32 Ben Ferris 73
10. W9 Steve O�Dowd 72
11. W23 Steve Griffiths 70
12. W47 Brad Wilde 69
13. W17 Bradley Minshull 59
14. W15 Wayne Thomson 59
15. W41 Leanne Couper 56
16. W7 Clint Marks 55
17. W89 Brett Dohnt 53
18. W27 Scott WIlde 50
19. W12 Brinley McGaffin 17
20. W82 Dale Roberts 17
21. W13 Kathy Wyatt 10
22. W19 Ben Ridley 8
23. W45 Brian Herbert 0