by | Mar 11, 2023 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Morgan Melvin

Five days after leading the field to green at the SSA National Street Stock Title for it just to end up on the infield, former State Champion Hayden Norman lead all 51 laps to dominate the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway’s Coal Miner 51 tonight.

Norman, who was never headed, cruised to an over seven-second win in the second round of the ODH Mechanical North/South Shootout, defeating Lenny Bates and David Padmore.

Northern Territories Jack Yates would join Norman on the front row as the field went to green for the first attempt at a start, which would only make it to the back straight as Cody Avins would be the first retiree.

Ben Norman would be the story of the opening half of the A-Main. After being fastest In qualifying, he would have to transfer into the show through a B-Main because blowing a tyre in his heat race would work quickly into the top-10 and would be deep in a seven-car battle headed up by an ever-impressing Jake Williams and birthday boy Matt Iwanow.

The race was moving smoothly until the middle stages, where on each side of the mid-way break, we lost Michael Hamon, Jace Kempton, Damon Thomson and David Fall, all due to accidents on restarts.

From lap 26, it was all smooth sailing. While Norman was cruising to victory, an exciting battle for the podium was on, with Bates, Padmore, Iwanow, Williams and Paul Briggs all switching positions in the last 25 laps.

Ultimately, Norman was too strong, winning ahead of Bates and Padmore.Teams have plenty of work before tomorrow night’s Street Stock Stampede at the Tyrepower Manjimup Speedway.


A-Main, 51 Laps: 1. W6 Hayden Norman, 2. W74 Lenny Bates, 3. W26 David Padmore, 4. WB12 Paul Briggs, 5. W11 Matthew Iwanow, 6. WB24 Jake Williams, 7. W7 Josh Martinelli, 8. WA69 Paul Joss, 9. W2 Shane Whild, 10. W39 Zane Humohrys, 11. W199 Phil Lycholit, 12. WB31 Tristan Stroet (49), DNF: NT92 Lucas Fry (44), W10 Damon Thomson (26), WA7 Mick Hamon (25), W55 Jace Kempton (25), WA10 David Fall (24), NT15 Jack Yates (17), W66 Ben Norman (16), W88 Peter Dowie (9), WA16 Jack Barnewall (9), WA3 Gavin Minty (9), W83 Daniel Ameduri (6), WA31 Cody Avins (0).