Harper Wins Grand National

by | Jan 28, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Callum Harper has won his second Super Sedan Grand National at the Solo Hobart in three years on Sunday night, when he again beat an all-star cast in the fifty lap main event.

Harper, who only a week previous won the Super Sedan Grand Prix, started on the front row for the A Main, and effectively led every lap of the race.

Harper was joined by Shaun Black on the front row, but it would be five time winner Darren Kane who would move immediately to second place behind Harper.

Ryan Alexander would hound Black in the early stages while behind the lead pack, Dave Gartner, Adam Beechey and Peter Nicola would swap positions numerous times across the first ten laps.

In a brilliant spectactle, the first retiree would not occur until lap seventeen, with Anthony Manion heading infield and was soon joined by Corey Smith.

Darren Kane lost second place to Sean Black on lap nineteen, and then third place to Ryan Alexander on lap twenty three, as Harper continued to lead, albeit not by much as the drivers started to negotiate the heavy traffic.

On lap thirty, Kane lost four positions in a lap, effectively ending any chance of a sixth victory, as Harper started to slowly open a buffer on the opposition.

Lee Aylett from Western Australia would be the third withdrawal, with just ten laps remaining, leaving nineteen cars still on track, providing fans with a great race.

Black, Alexander and Beechey had a tremendous tussle for the minor placings, but Harper again proved too strong, winning his second major event in a week and sixth Feature Race win of the season. Black, Alexander and Beechey would be separated by 0.644 after the fifty laps, with Lucas Roberts fifth and Darren Kane sixth.

A Main, 50 Laps: 1. A1 Callum Harper, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. S47 Ryan Alexander, 4. T41 Adam Beechey, 5. V0 Lucas Roberts, 6. Q36 Darren Kane, 7. T8 Steve Latham, 8. T5 Leon Cleary, 9. T48 Wayne Dillon, 10. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 11. T71 Robert Bird, 12. S93 Kym Jury (49 laps), 13. N47 Darryl Moon, 14. N23 Andrew White (49), 15. T7 Nathan Howells (48), 16. T15 John Innes (47). DNF: 17. V2 Peter Nicola (47), 18. S1 Dave Gartner (47), 19. N21 Darren Anning (45), 20. T61 Laura Davidson (41), 21. W99 Lee Aylett (40), 22. T16 Corey Smith (19), 23. T24 Anthony Manion (17). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.033, Fastest Lap: 16.277 S47 Ryan Alexander

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography