by | Jan 8, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, VIC

Press Release Courtesy of the Victorian Super Sedan Association.

Callum Harper has won an incredible K Rock Cup and round two of the NSSS National Super Sedan Series at Avalon Raceway last night!

Harper set the top side alight with a blistering display for the fans in attendance, that led to his second K Rock Cup triumph, and the $3000 winners prize.

Earlier in the evening Mick Nicola Jnr, Trav Ramsdale, Tyson Moon and Lucas Roberts were victorious in heat race action.

Victorian and Tasmanian Champion Jamie Collins, and Mick Nicola Snr secured a front row start for the thirty lap main event after taking out two podium finishes in the heat race.

Moon and Nicola Jnr occupied the second row, with Harper and Roberts set to start from row three.

Collins and Nicola headed into turn one side by side and after minor contact Collins streaked away into the lead from Nicola Snr in second, Nicola Jnr in third, Roberts in fourth, and Moon in fifth at the end of lap one.

National Champion Trent Wilson moved forward after starting from seventh to fifth, displacing Moon and Harper who fell to eighth on lap two after losing seventh briefly to Todd Atkins.

Harper railed the top side of the track to move back to sixth, takings positions from Atkins and Moon in the space of two corners.

The caution light was out for the first time after six laps for a pair of spinners in turn one and two.

Collins led again from the restart, but it was all about Harper in sixth position.

Harper moved from sixth to fourth in one fell swoop rallying around the outside of Wilson in turns one and two, before blasting by Roberts down the back straight and into turn three.

Nicola Jnr was next on Harper’s hit list and three laps later Harper would move to third on the inside through turns three and four with twenty one laps remaining.

Nicola Jnr fought back and drew level on outside as they hit the stripe with twenty laps to run. Harper and Nicola Jnr ran side by side until Harper finally drew clear into turn three the following lap.

Harper looked to rail the top side of Nicola Snr through turns one and two. Nicola Snr got a little loose out of turn two and drifted up the track, baulking Harper’s momentum, and allowing Nicola Jnr to sneak by both of them to take second position.

Harper continued to pressure Nicola Snr, and after Nicola Snr was again loose out of turn two, Harper nailed the switch back move to draw level down the back straight, and went later on the brakes into turn three to take third position.

The second caution was out as Harper made the pass, with seventeen laps remaining, relegating him back to fourth to do it all over again.

And he did just start!

From the restart Harper went straight back to the top side and blasted around the outside to take third position.

Harper was on the back of the lead duo of Collins and Nicola Jnr immediately.

Harper took Nicola Jnr around the outside out of turn four and flew around Collins in turns one and two to take the lead at the half way mark of the race.

Collins was battling a tight racecar, and Nicola Jnr capitalised to take second on lap eighteen.

National Champion Wilson moved to fourth, and with some clear track set the timing sheets alight breaking the lap record on lap eighteen with a 14.866 second lap.

Wilson’s lap record would stand for all of about forty five seconds, has Harper flew around the Avalon venue in a rapid 14.578 seconds for a new lap record on lap twenty one.

Harper at this stage entered heavy lap traffic allowing Nicola Jnr to close within a couple of car lengths.

Harper and Nicola Jnr were both executing their moves through traffic well.

Harper continued to lead by three to four car lengths until two lap cars ran side by side right in front of Harper to allow Nicola Jnr to close right in on Harper’s back bumper.

Nicola Jnr briefly took the lead in turn one, but his run was baulked allowing Harper to sail around the outside and back into the lead with three laps remaining.

Harper and Nicola Jnr ranged up on the back of Dave Mackenzie coming to the white flag. Nicola Jnr again dived to the inside and took the lead in turn one.

With Mackenzie hugging the bottom of the track Harper had a clear run on the top side and set off down the back straight and to the chequered flag for his second career K Rock Cup victory.

Nicola Jnr crossed the line for a well deserved runner up finish.

Collins and Wilson battled all the to finish line with Collins claiming third by one tenth of a second from Wilson in fourth.

Brock Atkins fought his way through to round out the top five after starting from deep in the pack.

Roberts was the last of the lead lap finishers in sixth, ahead of Mackenzie in seventh, from Paul Blenkiron in eighth, Michael Hally in ninth, and Darren Giacometti who rounded out the top ten.

The next event for the Victorian Super Sedan Association will be the Victorian Super Sedan Title on the 4th of February when we make our return to B & S Earthworks Mildura Speedway!

2024 K Rock Cup Official Result

A Main – 30 laps

1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 3. V1 Jamie Collins, 4. A1 Trent Wilson, 5. N57 Brock Atkins, 6. V0 Lucas Roberts, 7. V24 Dave Mackenzie (29), 8. S22 Paul Blenkiron (29), 9. Q98 Michael Hally (29), 10. V12 Darren Giacometti (29), 11. V92 Jimmy Harris (29), DNF V99 Trav Ramsdale (27), N47 Tyson Moon (26), S18 Dave Gartner (18), V3 Mick Nicola Snr (16), V36 Todd Atkins (15), DNS V71 Lionel West

Victorian Super Sedan Association is proudly supported by,

Bendigo Metal Fabrications

Bergmeier Engineering

Australian Racing Products

Virtue Homes

Elite Shock Services

A & M Poultry Services

Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths

Arbmac Tree Services