by | Dec 11, 2023 | Uncategorized

Press Release Courtesy of Super Sedans Tasmania.

Callum Harper has taken out Round Three of the Tazz Auto Shots Tasmanian Super Sedan Series in convincing fashion at Autoklene Hobart Raceway.

Harper secured his third feature win in a row, and extended his lead at the top of the Tazz Auto Shots TSSS points standings.

Earlier in the evening Hobart’s Luke Gunn got his night off to a perfect start with a win in heat one. Harper crossed the line in second, ahead of Steve Latham in third.

Leon Cleary secured his third heat win of the season in heat two, leading home David Nichols in second, and Nathan Howells in third.

Kym Jury picked up his first ever heat win in Tasmania when he won heat three. Jury held off Grant Hopkins in second, and Laura Davidson in third.

Aaron Dillon was victorious in the final heat of the night, taking home a narrow win over Adam Beechey in second, and Latham in third.

That win was enough for Dillon to secure the first pole position of his young career. Gunn joined Dillon on the front row for the thirty lap main event.

Gunn looked to get the jump from the outside and came unstuck in front of the pack, spinning in turn one.

Gunn was sent to the rear of the field for the restart elevating Harper to the outside of the front row.

Harper got a lightning fast start and slung himself around the outside of Dillon and into the lead out of turn two.

Dillon settled into second, from Latham in third, Cleary in fourth, and Davidson in fifth.

Harper was setting a frenetic pace out front, as he quickly put four seconds between himself and the chasing pack as he got on to the back of lap traffic.

Latham was able to draw level with Dillon on the outside of the track, and the two drivers ran side by side for a number of laps putting on a great show for the southern Super Sedan fans.

Latham finally got the pass complete and set out after Harper.

Cleary was next to relegate Dillon just before the yellows were out for a spinning Ian Howells just after the halfway point of the race.

Harper led at the resumption, and again shot off into the distance.

A big crash on the back straight wiped out five cars with Davidson, Grant Hopkins, Wayne Dillon, Howells and Jury all having to exit the race.

The incident elevated Nichols and Beechey into the top five for the restart.

Harper continued to lead from Latham, Cleary Nichols and Beechey from the restart.

Beechey on the outside took fourth from Nichols, and drew level with Cleary.

Nichols fought back and reclaimed fourth position as the yellow came out, sending him back to fifth for the restart.

Gunn after being sent to the rear had surged back up to sixth position prior to the restart.

Beechey pounced at the restart to take third from Cleary, and Gunn took fifth from Nichols.

Gunn and Nichols were the next to move by Cleary, moving to fourth and fifth in quick succession.

Gunn had found great pace, displacing first Beechey, and then Latham in consecutive laps to move to the runner up spot.

Meanwhile up front Harper rebuilt his lead and greeted the chequered flag more than four seconds clear of his nearest competitor for his third victory in a row.

Gunn crossed the line second, completing a great recovery with a well deserved second placed finish.

Latham rounded out the podium, ahead of Beechey in fourth and Nichols in fifth.

The Tazz Auto Shots Tasmanian Super Sedan Series will return on Boxing Night at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway for round four as well as the time honoured Geoff Stagg Memorial.

Tazz Auto Shots Tasmanian Super Sedan Series Round Three brought to you by Nets Tasmania

A Main – 30 laps

1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. T12 Luke Gunn, 3. T8 Steve Latham, 4. T14 Adam Beechey, 5. T3 David Nichols, 6. T5 Leon Cleary, 7. T49 Aaron Dillon, 8. T10 Andrew Poke, 9. T4 Marcus Alexander (29), 10. T88 Paul Howard (29), 11. T26 Peter Johnston (29), 12. T60 Josh Tinning (29), 13. T47 Lucas Dillon (29), 14. T44 Ian Howells (29), DNF T61 Laura Davidson (18), T73 Grant Hopkins (18), T48 Wayne Dillon (18), T7 Nathan Howells (18), S93 Kym Jury (18), T52 Brad McMaster (0), T16 Dennis Davidson (0)

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;

Tazz Auto Shots

Speedway Sedans Tasmania

Richmond Speedway Inc

Nets Tasmania

Walsh Roofing

Australian Racing Products

Jury’s Earthworks

Roberts Don Mac

Document Management Tasmania

Tas Plant & Supervision Hire

Master Roofing Contractors

Assurance HR Management

Total Automotive & 4WD

BlackAzz Asphalting

Platinum Prints