by | Nov 14, 2021 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Image by Angryman Photography, Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania

After three attempts the Tasmanian Super Sedan season finally got underway last night at Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway Latrobe, with Callum Harper taking the win in Round One of the Walsh Marine Services Tasmanian Super Sedan Series.

A field of twenty one cars were entered, with four drivers sharing the glory in heat race action.

Tim Johnson made the best possible return after his roll over at the end of last season, by winning heat one.

David Nichols was too strong in heat two. Harper was victorious in heat three, and Robbie Bird took the win in the final heat of the night.

Wayne Dillon qualified his new Sweet Chassis on pole position, with Harper starting on the outside. Harper won the start and set off into the lead with Dillon giving chase.

Robbie Bird settled into third, with Adam Beechey in fourth, and Laura Davidson in fifth.

The lights went red on lap four with Andrew Poke going over in a big way. Steve Latham, Aaron Dillon, and Peter Johnston were innocent bystanders, but were all out of the race following the incident.

At the resumption Beechey made the pass on Bird for third and David Nichols moved into the top five after getting by Davidson.

Another caution come out on lap nine for Brendan Flynn.

With the Delaware double file starts in use the outside line got a strong start with Beechey moving to second around Dillon, and Nichols moving to fourth around Bird.

Nichols looked to be the man on the move after moving to third and mounting the pressure on Beechey.

A late race caution brought the field back together and Dillon made the most of it getting back by Nichols to take the final podium position.

Harper was never headed out front and crossed the line a couple of seconds clear of Beechey in second.

The battle between Dillon and Nichols went down to the line with Dillon coming out on top, and Laura Davidson rounded out the top five.

Official Result

A Main, 30 Laps- 1. T1 Callum Harper, 2. T14 Adam Beechey, 3. T48 Wayne Dillon, 4. T3 David Nichols, 5. T61 Laura Davidson, 6. T12 Luke Gunn, 7. T29 Tim Johnson, 8. T4 Marcus Alexander, 9. T47 Lucas Dillon, DNF T7 Nathan Howells, T28 Andy Russell, T71 Robbie Bird, T75 Brendan Flynn, T18 Dwaine Sonners, T26 Peter Johnston, T8 Steve Latham, T49 Aaron Dillon, T10 Andrew Poke

Super Sedans Tasmania wishes to thank the following marketing partners;

Walsh Marine Services

Buckby Motors

DG Nichols Builders

Total Automotive & 4WD

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

TKA Camping & Outdoors

Speedway Sedans Australia

Speedway Sedans Tasmania