by | Jan 13, 2023 | TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

Tasmania’s Callum Harper leads the way after night one of the 2023 Herb’s Pizzas Tasmanian Super Sedan State Title, where National Champion Matty Pascoe took the win in the preliminary A Main.

Drivers faced two heat races each on the opening night of competition and Queensland’s Sean Black marked his return to Tasmania with a heat race win in the opening heat of the night.

Black accounted for fellow Queenslander Brad Pascoe, and Tasmania’s Robbie Bird.

Luke Gunn scored a win in heat two, narrowly holding out Matty Pascoe by two tenths of a second. Dwaine Sonners rounded out the podium in third.

Harper stormed from the back of the pack to take lead after six laps, but had to fight tooth and nail to hold out Western Australia’s Lee Aylett in what was the heat race of the night. Harper would hold out Aylett by two tenths of a second, from Michael Hally in third.

Victoria’s Jamie Collins took the win in heat four, just clear of Harper in second, and Brad Pascoe in third.

Marcus Alexander scored a great win in heat five, ahead of Queenslands Steve Jordan in second, and Matty Pascoe in third.

Corey Smith would take out the final heat of the night, clear of New South Wales Tyson Moon in second, and Aylett in third.

Harper would start the prelim A Main from pole with Collins on his outside.

Collins would jump to the lead from the outside, but the caution light was out on the opening lap and a complete restart was ordered.

Harper would take the lead the second time around, and would lead the first four circulations before the caution was out for a spinning Aaron Dillon.

Harper would retire to the infield, leaving Collins in the lead, from Brad Pascoe in second, and Matty Pascoe in third.

Matty would take second from Brad on lap seven, and then take the lead from Collins the following lap.

There were great battles all over the track, with Collins, Pascoe and Jordan fighting over the minor placings.

Matty Pascoe would go on to record the win, to head into the second night full of confidence that he can defend his title.

Brad Pascoe would get the better of Collins with four laps to run, and would go on to finish second behind his father.

Collins would fill the final step on the podium, just clear of Steve Jordan in fourth. Tyson Moon would round out the top five.

David Nichols was the first local driver home in sixth, after starting from sixteenth. Wayne Dillon crossed the line seventh after starting dead last.

Hally would finish eighth, just clear of Steve Latham in ninth, and Victoria’s Mick Nicola who rounded out the top ten.

Drivers will return tomorrow night for one more round of heats to set the field for the forty lap Tasmanian Super Sedan Title.

Official Result

Preliminary A Main, 20 Laps- 1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 3. V34 Jamie Collins, 4. Q10 Steve Jordan, 5. N57 Tyson Moon, 6. T3 David Nichols, 7. T48 Wayne Dillon, 8. Q98 Michael Hally, 9. N1 Steve Latham, 10. V3 Mick Nicola, 11. T75 Brendan Flynn (19), DNF N57 Daryl Moon (15), T18 Dwaine Sonners (8), T4 Marcus Alexander (8) T22 Callum Harper (4), T49 Aaron Dillon (4), T12 Luke Gunn (3), Q26 Sean Black (3), T26 Peter Johnston (0), DISQ T10 Andrew Poke

Official Point Score After Night One
1. T22 Callum Harper 64
2. V34 Jamie Collins 53
3. A1 Matty Pascoe 51
4. Q18 Brad Pascoe 51
5. W4 Lee Aylett 51
6. T6 Corey Smith 49
7. T4 Marcus Alexander 46
8. Q10 Steve Jordan 45
9. Q26 Sean Black 44
10. T12 Luke Gunn 42
11. N47 Tyson Moon 38
12. T18 Dwaine Sonners 36
13. T71 Robbie Bird 36
14. Q98 Michael Hally 36
15. V3 Mick Nicola 30
16. T3 David Nichols 27
17. N57 Daryl Moon 25
18. T49 Aaron Dillon 23
19. T10 Andrew Poke 18
20. N1 Steve Latham 17
21. T75 Brendan Flynn 16
22. T26 Peter Johnston 16
23. T48 Wayne Dillon 14