by | Jan 28, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

Tasmania’s Callum Harper has dominated night one of the Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix at Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway in Latrobe to top the standings after the opening night of competition.

Victoria’s Mick Nicola kicked off his weekend with a heat race win in the opening heat of the night.

Nicola started from sixth and stormed through the field to take the lead on final circulation to take the win from Tasmania’s Robbie Bird who finished second.

New South Welshman Tyson Moon rounded out the podium in third.

Harper was victorious in the second heat of the night, getting the best of Tasmanian veteran David Nichols who finished second.

Aaron Dillon rounded out a Tasmanian trifecta in third.New South Welshman Lachlan Onley was too good in heat three, leading home Tasmanian Corey Smith in second and Queensland’s Steve Jordan in third.

Harper left it late in heat four, but went two for two after railing the top of the track to go from third to the lead in the last two laps.

Queensland’s Michael Hally would cross the line second, ahead of Moon in third.New South Wales Champion Steve Latham would take the win in heat five.

Smith would cross the line second, just clear of Nichols in third.

Tasmanian Champion Jamie Collins had a great battle with National Champion Matty Pascoe to take the win in heat six.

Pascoe would finished second, comfortably clear of Western Australia’s Lee Aylett in third.

Queensland’s Brad Pascoe took a big win in the seventh heat of the night, crossing the line four and a half seconds clear of Hally in second.

Harper would round out the podium in third.Moon would narrowly claim the penultimate heat of the night, beating Matty Pascoe to the line by just 0.179 of a second. Nicola would cross the line third.

Collins would claim his second heat win of the evening, accounting for Queensland’s Sean Black in second, and Onley in third.

Collins would lead the field to the green in the evens feature with Nicola on his outside.

Collins would get the jump, with Nicola in second.

Nicola would hike the left hand side of the car in turns one and two allowing Pascoe to come fourth to second in two corners.

Pascoe would set out after Collins running a much higher line than anyone else on the track.

Pascoe built the momentum up on the top side of the track and would lead at the stripe as the white flag came out.

Collins drove deep into turns one and two, a small mistake from Pascoe saw the two side by side down the back straight.

Collins edged ahead into turn three with Pascoe again looking around the outside, but couldn’t quite get the move done the second time around, and Collins would take the win by just 0.079 of a second.

Onley had a great view of all the action, crossing the line just behind in third. Jordan came through for fourth, and Nicola would round out the top five crossing the line fifth.

Harper would start the odd feature from pole with Moon on his outside.

Harper jumped away to the lead with Moon and Hally in pursuit.

Harper got away to a comfortable lead, but the battle for the minor placings was frenetic.

Black having started from sixth, stayed there for two thirds of the race before railing the top of the track to go from sixth to second in four laps.

Harper would record a comfortable win, more than five seconds clear of Black in second. Moon would hold on for third, just clear of Hally and Smith in fourth and fifth respectively.

Drivers will return tonight for a further two rounds of heats, before the pole shuffle which will set the field for the fifty lap Super Sedan Grand Prix.

Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix points standings after night one

1st T22 Callum Harper – 131

2nd T1 Jamie Collins – 121

3rd N47 Tyson Moon – 105

4th A1 Matty Pascoe – 97

5th Q26 Sean Black – 90

6th V3 Mick Nicola – 89

7th N57 Lachlan Onley – 88

8th T6 Corey Smith – 86

9th Q98 Michael Hally – 83

10th T3 David Nichols – 74

11th Q18 Brad Pascoe – 66

12th N1 Steve Latham – 66

13th Q10 Steve Jordan – 65

14th T71 Robbie Bird – 57

15th W4 Lee Aylett – 54

16th T4 Marcus Alexander – 48

17th T61 Laura Davidson – 46

18th T49 Aaron Dillon – 44

19th T25 Joe Breitkopf – 35

20th T10 Andrew Poke – 34

21st T26 Peter Johnston – 30

22nd T75 Brendan Flynn – 21

23rd T18 Dwaine Sonners – 18

24th T73 Grant Hopkins – 8