by | Jan 23, 2022 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

Callum Harper has won the AutoKlene Super Sedan Grand National for the third time last night at AutoKlene Hobart RacewayHarper went into night two second on points, but would win both of his heat races to put himself on top of the pile heading into the pole shuffle.

Other heat winners on night two were; Queenslanders Matty Pascoe, Michael Hally and Leigh Williams. Tyson Moon also got a heat win for the New South Welshman.

The pole shuffle would again come down to Harper and Queensland’s Matt Williams. After falling to Williams at the Grand Prix the week before, Harper would greet the chequers first to earn himself pole position for the fifty lap main event.

Harper and Williams would run side by side for the first lap with Harper taking a slender lead. Williams would get all out of shape in turns three and four, falling back to fourth in the process.

Williams would fight back on the top side of the track passing Pascoe for third, then a lap later Steve Latham for second, before setting out after Harper.

By lap eight Williams was right on Harper’s tail. Williams sailed around the outside of Harper and into the lead on lap eleven.

Williams was flawless in traffic and had a strong lead when the caution lights were on for the first time on lap twenty four for a spinning Andy Russell.

Latham would exit the race with an engine issue. Williams again set off into the lead, but disaster would strike on lap thirty when he slowed to a stop and was forced to exit the race.

Moon and Tasmania’s Wayne Dillon also withdrew with flat left front tyres. Harper would inherit the lead, with Pascoe in second and Queensland’s Michael Hally third.

Harper set off with Pascoe hot on his tail. Pascoe would pull alongside on a couple of occasions to lead at the stripe on lap thirty five and again lap thirty nine.

Harper held firm on the bottom of the track and would eventually drive away from Pascoe in the closing stages and would go on to record his third Grand National victory.

Pascoe would run a comfortable second, and Tasmania’s Corey Smith would come out on top in a great battle for the last step on the podium between himself Hally, and Brad Pascoe who would round out the top five.

We can now look forward to the Race for Beech at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway this Tuesday night, before the 50th running of the SSA National Super Sedan Title this Friday and Saturday at Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway Latrobe.

AutoKlene Super Sedan Grand National result:Fifty laps1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 3. T6 Corey Smith, 4. Q98 Michael Hally, 5. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 6. N23 Andrew White, 7. N47 Daryl Moon (49), 8. T61 Laura Davidson (49), 9. T12 Luke Gunn (49) 10. Q28 Zac Pascoe (49), 11. Q4 Leigh Williams (49), 12. T7 Nathan Howells (49), 13. T28 Andy Russell (49), 14. T47 Lucas Dillon (47), 15. T49 Aaron Dillon (47), DNF Q3 Matt Williams (30), N57 Tyson Moon (30), T48 Wayne Dillon (30), T8 Steve Latham (24), N21 Darren Anning (21), V34 Jamie Collins (2)

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;

Walsh Marine Services

Buckby Motors

DG Nichols Builders

Total Automotive & 4WD

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

TKA Camping & Outdoors

Speedway Sedans Australia

Speedway Sedans Tasmania