Harper Claims Second National Crown

by | Mar 3, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Callum Harper has won his second National Super Sedan Title, after winning a thrilling A Main at Valvoline Raceway on Saturday night which had multiple lead changes.

Harper defeated a gallant Matt Pascoe who held the lead several times, while Darren Kane finished third.

The race would start with Pascoe and Harper on the front row while Dave Gartner and Corey Smith shared row two.

Pascoe and Harper both got good starts, but Gartner and Smith certainly did not, with Gartner dropping to fourth while Smith dropped to seventh in the early laps, as Kane moved immediately to third.

Pascoe, Harper and Kane moved clear of the rest of the field, which were all racing two and three wide through the chasing pack.

Harper took the lead on lap eight, and opened a small lead as Pascoe took the turn at chasing, while Darren Kane was literally racing by himself the length of the straight away in third.

Ryan Alexander had moved to fourth as Gartner continued to move back through the field, and would be the first retirement from the race on lap fifteen. Two laps prior to that, a rare stoppage in the race occurred when Brad Wicks and Corey Smith made contact, and after watching several replays of the incident, officials deemed Wicks the cause and he was subsequently sent to the rear of the field.

With clear air in front of him, Harper continued to lead but Pascoe fought back, taking back the lead on lap twenty three, as both drivers took turns on the bottom and top of the race track. Not to be denied, Harper came again, taking back the lead on lap twenty seven as lapped cars started to come into play.

Harper opened a lead on Pascoe, with Kane third, and Sean Black fourth, with Black challenging Kane for third with ten laps remaining.
Pascoe persisted and clawed back the lead of Harper yet again, in a thrilling final few laps, with Harper winning by just 0.549. Kane was able to fight off the challenge of Black who finished a credible fourth, with Ryan Alexander and Phil Barton from Western Australia finishing in the top six.

Earlier Kyall Fisher won a highly entertaining B Main to advance to the forty lap decider, finishing fourteenth.

For Harper, he becomes a two time National Champion, after winning the 2016 edition at Rockhampton. Matt Pascoe after finishing third last year, finishes second for the first time in a National Title, while Darren Kane has now finished third on five occasions, four times in the last five years.

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. Q15 Matt Pascoe, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. S8 Dave Gartner, 4. T16 Corey Smith, 5. Q36 Darren Kane, 6. N17 Lachlan Onley, 7. S47 Ryan Alexander, 8. Q6 Wayne Randall, 9. Q26 Sean Black, 10. Q15x Gavin Northfield, 11. V17 Brad Wicks, 12. N23 Andrew White, 13. V3 Michael Nicola, 14. Q3 Matt Williams, 15. W36 Phil Barton, 16. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 17. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 18. V24 David McKenzie, 19. Q7 Grant Shaw, 20. Leigh Williams
1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. Q15 Matty Pascoe, 3. Q36 Darren Kane, 4. Q26 Sean Black, 5. S47 Ryan Alexander, 6. W36 Phil Barton, 7. N17 Lachlan Onley, 8. Q3 Matthew Williams, 9. T16 Corey Smith, 10. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 11. V3 Michael Nicola, 12. Q6 Wayne Randall, 13. V17 Brad Wicks (39), 14. Q32 Kyall Fisher (39), 15. Q7 Grant Shaw (39), 16. Q15x Gavin Northfield (38), 17. N23 Andrew White (38), 18. V24 David MacKenzie (38), 19. Q4 Leigh Williams (38), 20. S8 Dave Gartner (15). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.549, Fastest Lap: 16.914 Q15 Matty Pascoe