Harper Back In Town

by | Nov 27, 2018 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Super Sedans returned to Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway for the first time this season, with one of the biggest fields in many years, with National Champion, Callum Harper also making his first appearance of the season.

Harper would go on to win the opening heat from Gil Aylett and Nathan Howells by almost half a lap, firing an ominous warning to the opposition.

Adam Beechey would win heat two, and in the process defeat Harper, but Harper stormed through the field from position seven, running out of laps to catch Beechey who showed great car speed at the opening round at Hobart.

Steve Latham would make it three different winners from three heats, when he won the final qualifier, leading into the thirty lap A Main.

Harper and Beechey would start on the front row, while Steve Latham and Gil Aylett would start on row two. After a false start, Harper would lead Beechey and Lathan, but the race ended soon after for Beechey who went infield.

Latham challenged Harper for the lead on lap four, but the race was brought under caution when Anthony Manion was involved in an incident, with Lucas Dillon sent to the rear of the field.

After another minor stoppage Harper continued to lead, and led to the chequered flag, holding off a very determined Steve Latham, who was with Harper for a good portion of the race, before the Harper extended his advantage.

Latham then found himself having to contend with Gil Aylett in the concluding stages, with David Nichols finishing fourth.

:: Super Sedans

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Callum Harper, 2. T11 Gil Aylett, 3. T7 Nathan Howells, 4. T75 Leon Nichols, 5. T8 Steve Latham, 6. T61 Laura Davidson, 7. T47 Lucas Dillon (7 laps), 8. T10 Andrew Poke (7), 9. T71 Robert Reid. Time: 2.03.027 (8 laps), Winning Margin: 6.432, Fastest Lap: 14.988 A1 Callum Harper

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T41 Adam Beechey, 2. A1 Callum Harper, 3. T3 David Nichols, 4. T48 Wayne Dillon, 5. T11 Gil Aylett, 6. T7 Nathan Howells, 7. T24 Anthony Manion, 8. T75 Leon Nichols, 9. T19 Brett Dawkins. Time: 2.27.111, Winning Margin: 4.002, Fastest Lap: 14.482 T41 Adam Beechey

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T8 Steve Latham, 2. T61 Laura Davidson, 3. T47 Lucas Dillon, 4. T48 Wayne Dillon, 5. T41 Adam Beechey, 6. T71 Robert Bird, 7. T3 David Nichols, 8. T19 Brett Dawkins, 9. T24 Anthony Manion. Time: 2.33.300, Winning Margin: 5.809, Fastest Lap: 14.946

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. A1 Callum Harper, 2. T8 Steve Latham, 3. T11 Gil Aylett, 4. T3 David Nichols, 5. T7 Nathan Howells, 6. T75 Leon Nichols, 7. T61 Laura Davidson, 8. T47 Lucas Dillon, 9. T71 Robert Bird (29 laps), 10. T48 Wayne Dillon (6), 11. T24 Anthony Manion (5), 12. T19 Brett Dawkins (5). 13, T41 Adam Beechey (2). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.484, Fastest Lap: 15.556 A1 Callum Harper

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography