Harm Takes Opening Round

by | Nov 27, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The opening round of the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Production Sedan Super Series was held on Saturday night at Fraser Shores Maryborough with Josh Harm victorious.

The first round of the series attracted a large field with Tony Owen winning the opening heat by two car lengths, before Kev Young won heat two. Jamie Beasmore comfortably won heat three to round out the opening round.

Harm defeated Joel Berkley by four car lengths in heat four, before Adrian Stott won by a similar margin in heat five, with Brayden Pacey taking heat six.

Adrian Stott became the first driver to win two heats, narrowly defeating Tony Owen and Jamie Beasmore, both of whom had won earlier heats. Joel Berkley reversed the heat four result, by accounting for Josh Harm in heat eight, with the final qualifying heat going the way of Wayne Moller, who defeated Sarah Franz and Brayden Pacey.

Stott and Pacey would start on the front row of the grid for the twenty lap A Main, with Tony Owen and Joel Berkley starting on row two.

It would be Tony Owen who would lead after the opening lap, with both Stott and Pacey dropping several places. Owen held the lead only for the first lap, as Harm, who started from position five took control of the race on lap two.

Stott recovered from his rough start to move back to second place, with Berkley in third place. Ultimately that is the way positions would remain, with many other drivers falling by the wayside in the meantime, with Richard Cook, Tony Owen, Sarah Franz, Kev Young, Brayden Pacey and Deon Cook all retiring before lap ten.

Harm held a four car length lead over the chasing pack, with Stott, Berkley, Aaron Sander, Scott Duthie and Wayne Moller all in close proximity throughout the concluding stages.

Harm, who won twice at Maryborough last season, continued his success at the venue, winning by 1.777, defeating Adrian Stott and Joel Berkley.

:: Production Sedans

Heat 1, 8 Laps: 1. RK7 Tony Owen, 2. SB23 Aaron Bleys, 3. SC31 Will Roeser, 4. G22 Marshall Virtue, 5. M57 Deon Cook (4 laps), 6. SB26 Nic Bleys (0), 7. M27 Danielle Harris (0), 8. M26 Gary Harris (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.863, Fastest Lap: 16.774 Rk7 Tony Owen

Heat 2, 8 Laps: 1. RK71 Kev Young, 2. G116 Aaron Sander (REL), 3. SC36 Sarah Franz, 4. SC61 Jim Cowley, 5. M28 Scott Duthie, 6. M9 Joel Berkley, 7. SB88 Josh Harm, 8. SB44 Mitchell Bleys, 9. Gl61 Ricky Ingham (0). Time: 1.59.019 (7 laps), Winning Margin: N/A, Fastest Lap: 16.277 SC61 Jim Cowley

Heat 3, 8 Laps: 1. M4 Jamie Beasmore, 2. M63 Brayden Pacey, 3. SC23 Adrian Stott, 4. M24 Dan Thompson, 5. GL15 Richard Cook, 6. M5 Wayne Moller, 7. SC28 Stephen Freeman, 8. M18 Brendan Bayfield (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.043, Fastest Lap: 16.583 M4 Jamie Beasmore

Heat 4, 8 Laps: 1. SB88 Josh Harm, 2. M9 Joel Berkley, 3. SB26 Nic Bleys, 4. RK7 Tony Own, 5. M28 Scott Duthie, 6. M4 Jamie Beasmore, 7. M18 Brendan Bayfield (2 laps). Time: No Time Winning Margin: 1.152, Fastest Lap: 17.007 M28 Scott Duthie

Heat 5, 8 Laps: 1. SC23 Adrian Stott, 2. GL15 Richard Scott, 3. RK71 Kev Young, 4. M5 Wayne Moller, 5. M57 Deon Cook, 6. SC36 Sarah Franz, 7. SB44 Mitchell Bleys (7 laps). Time: 2.22.381, Winning Margin: 1.803, Fastest Lap: 16.962 SC23 Adrian Stott

Heat 6, 8 Laps: 1. M63 Brayden Pacey, 2. SC61 Jim Cowley, 3. SC23 Aaron Bleys, 4. M24 Dan Thompson, 5. SC28 Stephen Freeman, 6. SC31 Will Roeser (6 laps), 7. G116 Aaron Sander (6), 8. G22 Marshall Virtue (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.618, Fastest Lap: 16.745 M63 Brayden Pacey

Heat 7, 8 Laps: 1. SC23 Adrian Stott, 2. RK7 Tony Owen, 3. M4 Jamie Beasmore, 4. M28 Scott Duthie, 5. SB26 Nic Bleys, 6. M24 Dan Thompson. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.278, Fastest Lap: 17.083 M24 Dan Thomspon

Heat 8, 8 Laps: 1. M9 Joel Berkley, 2. SB88 Josh Harm, 3. GL15 Richard Cook, 4. SB23 Aaron Bleys, 5. M57 Deon Cook, 6. SB44 Mitchell Bleys, 7. SC28 Stephen Freeman. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.118, Fastest Lap: 16.881 M9 Joel Berkley

Heat 9, 8 Laps: 1. M5 Wayne Moller, 2. SC36 Sarah Franz, 3. M63 Brayden Pacey, 4. G116 Aaron Sander, 5. SC61 Jim Cowley, 6. RK71 Kev Young. Time: 1.43.488 (6 laps), Winning Margin: 1.679, Fastest Lap: 17.026 SC36 Sarah Franz

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. SB88 Josh Harm, 2. SC23 Adrian Stott, 3. M9 Joel Berkley, 4. G116 Aaron Sander, 5. M28 Scott Duthie, 6. M5 Wayne Moller, 7. SC61 Jim Cowley, 8. M4 Jamie Beasmore, 9. SB26 Nic Bleys, 10. SB23 Aaron Bleys, 11. SB44 Mitchell Bleys, 12. M24 Dan Thompson, 13. GL15 Richard Cook (9 laps), 14. RK7 Tony Owen (9), 15. SC36 Sarah Franz (9), 16. RK71 Kev Young (9), 17. M63 Brayden Pacey (7), 18. M57 Deon Cook (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.777, Fastest Lap: 16.858 SB88 Josh Harm

Photos courtesy of Mr Click