by | Oct 4, 2020 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

All Photos by Peter Roebuck

Bunbury’s Mick Hamon has claimed victory in an action packed 2020 SSA Production Sedans WA State Title this evening at the Make Smoking History Bunbury Speedway.

Hamon was locked in a fierce battle with Kyle Sayer in the final laps before Sayer unfortunately came to grief within sight of the finish.

Just four of the original twenty two starters completed the gruelling forty lap A main before a big Sunday Night crowd.

Freezing temperatures once again greeted competitors and spectators for night two of the rescheduled State Title.

Karratha’s Jack McAuley continued his strong weekend by claiming a victory in the opening heat on night two with Rod Musarra doing the same in heat twenty.

Heat twenty one saw Drew Ogle lead for nine laps before Kyle Sayer made an outstanding outside pass on the final corner to go through the heat race competition undefeated.

Hamish Macapline lead all ten laps in heat twenty two before he was disqualified post race handing victory to Bunbury local Rachel Spalding.

Two of the heavy hitters in the field Jake Blight and Jamie Oldfield had a great tussle in heat twenty three with Blight narrowly holding off the defending champion after a lengthy delay due to Daniel Flavel making heavy contact with the turn four pit gate.

The final heat race of the title saw Hayden Norman finally show his class as Ashley Baker made heavy contact with the wall causing extensive damage to his Western Regional Towing Holden Commodore.

2018 WA Champion Barry Rose lead all twenty laps in the first B Main which saw a number of incidents.

Carnarvon’s Allan Harper lost the right wheel on his Ford Falcon on lap sixteen after being caught up in a multiple car pile up only a lap earlier.

Josh Fraser and a fast finishing Jamie Graham collected the two other transfer spots in what was a race of attrition.

The second B Main was once again a race of drama and mechanical failures with Hayden Norman losing his right front wheel while leading with Rick Musarra also retiring while in a transfer position.

2006 WA Production Sedan Champion Richard Nelson along with Albany’s Aydan Trewern and Joe Wilson all moved through into the forty lap decider.

The first four rows for the 2020 SSA Production Sedans WA State Title A Main featured Holden Commodores with defending champion Jamie Oldfield aboard his Ford Falcon starting from position nine.

Sayer jumped to the lead when the lights when green in the main event with 2015 WA Champion Mick Hamon moving into second place as the opening laps saw cars racing two and three wide throughout the field.

The first casualty was Kye Blight who retired after the opening circulation with Ashley Baker and Jamie Oldfield both out with flat right rear tyres before lap ten.

Barry Rose soon headed infield in his Mitsubishi Sigma as the top four Holden Commodores of Sayer, Hamon, Rod Musarra and Jack McAuley moved away from the field.

The best presented car in the State Title Peter Huntjens retired from fifth place with another flat tyre as many cars began to show signs of distress.

Jack McAuley’s outstanding weekend came to an end of lap nineteen as he headed infield with smoke coming from the engine while momentarily sitting in third place as Hamon, Musarra and Sayer continued a brilliant battle for the lead.

Victorian Champion Beau Riley brought on the yellow lights on lap twenty one after hitting the wall heavily in the main straight after contact with another car while in fourth place just as Musarra hit the lead.

2017 WA Champion Drew Ogle caused another stoppage when his suspension failed after inheriting fourth place from Riley.

The main straight crowd were on their feet as Sayer, Hamon and Musarra raced three wide at times as only a handful of cars remained.

Jayke Malcolm hit the wall heavily in turn four on lap twenty four with Josh Fraser also suffering the same fate a lap later.

Just six cars remained for the race to the flag with Musarra moving into second past Sayer and soon was challenging Hamon for the lead.

Musarra dramatically headed infield on lap thirty one continuing his often cruel luck in State Titles.

As the laps wound down Sayer and Hamon had an outstanding duel for the lead with the two racing wheel to wheel for the State Title.

The drama wasn’t finished yet as Sayer’s suspension failed as he tried to pass Hamon on lap thirty nine ending his race.

Sayer was visibly distressed as his exited his car leaving just Hamon, Ron Belfield, Joe Wilson and Jamie Graham for the run to the chequered flag.

Hamon wouldn’t be beaten as he defeated five time champion Ron Belfield by 0.593 of a second from Wilson and Graham who both came from the B Main.

The victory for Hamon ended a remarkable week for the likeable competitor after he won the Brian Rose Memorial for SSA Street Stocks only seven days earlier.

Unfortunately Margaret River’s Joe Wilson who crossed the line in third place was disqualified post race for a technical infringement which meant Jamie Graham was elevated into the final spot on the podium.

The 2020/2021 SSA Production Sedans WA State Title will be held at the Moora Speedway on the March long weekend in 2021.

Official Result

1. W7 Mick Hamon, 2. W61 Ron Belfield, 3. W22 Jamie Graham. DNF: W95 Kyle Sayer (38), W12 Rod Musarra (31), WA5 Josh Fraser (25), W23 Jayke Malcolm (24), W60 Richard Nelson (23), W13 Drew Ogle (21), W2 Branden Fraser (21), W40 Beau Riley (21), WA96 Jack McAuley (19), WA61 Jake Blight (16), WA71 Aydan Trewern (14), W5 Peter Huntjens (13), W181 Barry Rose (7), WA1 Jamie Oldfield (6), W10 Ashley Baker (4), W99 Benny Curtin (3), W666 Peter Katona (2), W71 Kye Blight (0). DQ: W36 Joe Wilson. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.593. Fastest Lap: 19.911 W12 Rod Musarra