by | Sep 27, 2020 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Photos by Peter Roebuck

Two Time National Champion Mick Hamon after many years of trying has finally claimed victory in the annual Brian Rose Memorial for SSA Street Stocks at the Ellenbrook Speedway in Western Australia.

Hamon dominated the thirty lap main event from start to finish aboard his Holden Commodore leading home Carnarvon’s Damon Lyall and Moora’s Gordon Wyatt to the chequered flag.

Perfect conditions for racing greeted competitors for the second day of competition with a great crowd on hand to witness a thrilling conclusion to the East Pilbara Tyre Service supported event.

Collie’s Cody Avins after qualifying from pole position for the A Main elected to take the money on offer to start from the rear of the twenty four car field.

Hamon and Lyall shared the front row with State Champion Jamie Oldfield and Evan Wakefield coming from the second row.

A couple of complete restarts were called due to cars spinning at the back of the pack before the race finally got into a rhythm.

Lyall lead the initial early laps before Hamon worked the bottom of the race track in his Holden Commodore to put Lyall back to second.

Gordon Wyatt, Damon Thomson and Warren Oldfield were soon engaged in a three car battle for the final spot on the podium for a number of laps as Evan Wakefield retired from the race on lap five.

Jamie Oldfield began to fall back through the field with a ill handling racecar as Stefani Ameduri soon moved herself into the top ten.

As the laps wound down Lyall tried everything to run down the leader but the two time National Champion would not be beaten defeating Lyall and Gordon Wyatt who got the better of his battle with Damon Thomson for third.

Ameduri drove a brilliant race to finish fifth ahead of Warren Oldfield, Paul Briggs, Jace Kempton, Jamie Oldfield and Moora’s Gavin Minty rounding out the top ten.

The Brian Rose Memorial victory represents the biggest win in Street Stock competition on Western Australian soil for Mick Hamon who was a very popular winner.

Official Result

SSA Street Stocks A Main, Thirty Laps: 1. W5 Mick Hamon, 2. W27 Damon Lyall, 3. W95 Gordon Wyatt, 4. W10 Damon Thomson, 5. W83 Stefani Ameduri, 6. W51 Warren Oldfield, 7. W112 Paul Briggs, 8. W55 Jace Kempton, 9. W1 Jamie Oldfield, 10. W3 Gavin Minty, 11. W69 Paul Joss, 12. W35 Craig Clayton, 13. W110 Clayton Blee, 14. W6 Hayden Norman, 15. W66 Ben Norman, 16. W20 Tyler De Maine (29), 17. W12 Ryan Penfold (29), 18. W104 Donna Vanzetti (28). DNF: W31 Cody Avins (24), W17 Aaron Sutton (19), W14 Ken Macpherson (8), W21 Evan Wakefield (5), W44 Peter Herbert (3), W2 Marty Kelly (0). DNS: W109 Brendan Vanzetti