by | Dec 11, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release Courtesy of the Super Sedan Association.

JJ Hamilton has taken the first Super Sedan victory of his young career during Round Five of the McCosker Super Sedan Series, and Round Two of the Ultimate Super Sedan Championship at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

Celebrating Ultimate Pink Night, Hamilton finally reached victory lane after coming so close a number of times on the Toowoomba ‘High Banks’.

Earlier in the evening Darren Kane kicked off his night aboard the immaculate pink Dominator Chassis house car with a dominant win in heat one.

Kane led home Lismore’s Tania Smith in second, and Hamilton in third.

Hayden Brims got his night off to a strong start with a victory in heat two. Bob McCosker crossed the line second, ahead of New South Wales Champion Matty Pascoe in third.

National Champion Trent Wilson was victorious in heat three in a highly entertaining affair. Wilson led home ‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan in second, and Queensland Champion Brad Pascoe in third.

Brims made it two for two in the final heat of the night, surging from the back of the pack to take win from Kane in second, and Hamilton in third.

Brims banked himself $500 when he greeted the chequers first in the AFCO Shock Doctor Roll a Dice Dash. Brims went on to roll a five, inverting the top ten cars for the twenty five lap feature race.

Following the invert Zac Pascoe secured pole position, with Toowoomba’s own Sean Black on his outside.

The field bunched up on the start, and after a melee coming out of turn four Wilson, Klinton Hancey, and Rob Hamilton were out of the race before it even began.

Zac Pascoe was deemed as the cause of the stoppage and was sent to the rear for the restart, elevating Jordan to pole position.

Jordan and Black completed the first two circulations in perfect formation, with it taking to the start of lap three for ‘The Joker’ to edge into the lead.

It was very busy behind the lead pair for the final step on the podium.

Matty Pascoe held that position, as Smith, Kane and Hamilton bought into the battle as well.

Black gained the ascendancy on the top side of the track and took the lead in front of his home town fans.

The seas parted for Hamilton, as he blitzed his way through the middle lane of the track to move from sixth to third on lap six.

Jordan was next for Hamilton and he would claim the runner up spot with seventeen laps remaining.

Hamilton’s journey to the lead was complete a lap later when he moved by Black on lap nine.

The caution flag was out a lap later after the motor expired in the Dylan Barrow machine, dumping a bunch of fluid on the track, sending a couple of cars spinning down the back straight.

A strong restart for Brad Pascoe saw him surge through to fourth, after initially starting from eleventh on the grid.

Brad railed the top of the track to take the final step on the podium from Black with nine laps remaining.

Brims after starting from tenth, climbed to fourth , taking the position from Black and set out after Pascoe for third.

Hamilton continued to lead up front, with Kane in hot pursuit.

Brims built his momentum up on the top side of the track and took third position from Pascoe with five laps remaining.

Hamilton was flawless in traffic, coming under no pressure on his way to the first victory of his young career.

Kane crossed the line second, and Brims narrowly held on to third after finding the turn three wall on the final circulation.

Brad Pascoe was next across the line in fourth, ahead of Black in fifth.

Zac Pascoe rebounded to cross the line sixth, ahead of his father Matty Pascoe in seventh.

McCosker, Hughes and Hally rounded out the top ten.

Hamilton was ecstatic post race, thanking his family and sponsors for their support in getting him to this moment.

The McCosker Super Sedan Series will return after Christmas with four big nights of racing!

McCosker Super Sedan Series R5 & Ultimate Super Sedan Championship R2

A Main – 25 laps

1. B48 JJ Hamilton, 2. Q36 Darren Kane, 3. N77 Hayden Brims, 4. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. B6 Zac Pascoe, 7. N1 Matty Pascoe, 8. Q39 Bob McCosker, 9. B4 Sam Hughes, 10. C98 Michael Hally, 11. N3 Tania Smith, 12. Q12 David Musch, 13. Q47 Barry Craft (24), 14. LV42 Michael Taylor (24), 15. GL3 Martin Newton (24), DNF Q10 Steve Jordan (16), LV13 Scott Taylor (11), C17 Dylan Barrow (9), A1 Trent Wilson (0), Q11 Klinton Hancey (0), B11 Rob Hamilton (0)

The Super Sedan Association is proudly supported by;

McCosker Contracting

AFCO Shock Doctor (ASD)

Ash Media

Brims Coastal Cement

Cush Clothing Co

Down Under Graphics

Fusion Graphix & Signs

Ian Boettcher Race Parts (IBRP)

Integrity Extended Warranties

Kempy Race Pipes

Larsen Air Conditioning Hire

QLD Coast Concrete

Think Investment Realty