Grand Prix Grand National Double To Pascoe

by | Jan 28, 2018 | Latest News, Results


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Matty Pascoes total dominance of the 2017/2018 season just keeps on rolling on, as he led all fifty laps in Saturday nights Super Sedan Grand National, at the Solo Hobart Speedway, winning the event for the second time in four years.

Pascoes remarkable run now stands at six Feature event wins in a row (not taking into account preliminary features), with the Queensland Champion now having won ten Feature events for the season.

In contrast to the Super Sedan Grand Prix the week earlier, this event had nominal passing, and all but two of the drivers finished, with Pascoe leading throughout.

Ryan Alexander and Callum Harper followed Pascoe for the first thirty five laps before Harper moved to second only for Alexander to reclaim the position on lap forty one.

Sean Black, who had been fourth for the entire race, was hounded by Mick Nicola Snr and Darren Kane, with Kane eventually getting the better of his fellow Queenslander on lap forty three.

Pascoe, Alexander and Harper had cleared right away from the rest of the opposition with little separating them in the concluding stages, but Pascoe again proved to be too good when it mattered, replicating what Harper did last season, by winning both the Grand Prix and the Grand National.

Darren Kane would be more than half a lap behind in fourth, just ahead of Sean Black, while Mick Nicola Snr, Dave Gartner and Adam Beechey would be the only other drivers to complete all fifty laps, and all were just ahead of Matty Pascoe when they chequered flag was displayed.

:: Super Sedans

Heat 10, 10 Laps: 1. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 2. S47 Ryan Alexander, 3. A1 Darren Kane, 4. N17 Lachlan Onley, 5. T3 David Nichols, 6. V1 Peter Nicola, 7. V0 Lucas Roberts. Time: 2.42.365, Winning Margin: 0.221, Fastest Lap: 15.609 V1 Peter Nicola

Heat 11, 10 Laps: 1. N23 Andrew White, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 4. T24 Anthony Manion, 5. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 6. S1 Dave Gartner, 7. Q26 Sean Black, 8. T16 Corey Smith (9 laps). Time: 2.34.527, Winning Margin: 0.149, Fastest Lap: 15.058 Q1 Matty Pascoe

Heat 12, 10 Laps: 1. T41 Adam Beechey, 2. N21 Darren Anning, 3. T48 Wayne Dillon, 4. Q10 Steve Jordan, 5. S93 Kym Jury, 6. T7 Nathan Howells, 7. T47 Lucas Dillon (9 laps). Time: 2.36.856, Winning Margin: 1.880, Fastest Lap: 15.234 T41 Adam Beechey

Heat 13, 10 Laps: 1. T3 David Nichols, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. Q26 Sean Black, 4. N23 Andrew White, 5. S1 Dave Gartner, 6. V3 Mick Nicola Snr. Time: 2.36.982, Winning Margin: 0.405, Fastest Lap: 15.390 T3 David Nichols

Heat 14, 10 Laps: 1. S47 Ryan Alexander, 2. N17 Lachlan Onley, 3. Q10 Steve Jordan, 4. A1 Darren Kane, 5. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 6. N21 Darren Anning, 7. T47 Lucas Dillon. Time: 2.35.675, Winning Margin: 0.413, Fastest Lap: 15.289 Q10 Steve Jordan

Heat 15, 10 Laps: 1. T16 Corey Smith, 2. T48 Wayne Dillon, 3. V1 Peter Nicola, 4. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 5. T41 Adam Beechey, 6. T24 Anthony Manion, 7. S93 Kym Jury, 8. T7 Nathan Howells. Time: 2.40.846, Winning Margin: 0.837, Fastest Lap: 15.439 V1 Peter Nicola

A Main, 50 Laps: 1. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 2. S47 Ryan Alexander, 3. T22 Callum Harper, 4. A1 Darren Kane, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 7. S1 Dave Gartner, 8. T41 Adam Beechey, 9. N17 Lachlan Onley (49 laps), 10. Q10 Steve Jordan (49), 11. T16 Corey Smith (49), 12. T3 David Nichols (49), 13. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr (49), 14. T48 Wayne Dillon (49), 15. N23 Andrew White (49), 16. N21 Darren Anning (48), 17. T7 Nathan Howells (46), 18. S93 Kym Jury (46), 19. T47 Lucas Dillon (45). DNF: 20. T24 Anthony Manion (31), 21. V1 Peter Nicola (21). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.592, Fastest Lap: 15.647 Q1 Matty Pascoe

Matt Pascoe continues to totally dominate, adding the Grand National to his collection of victories. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography

Matty Pascoe flanked by Ryan Alexander and Callum Harper. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography