Grand Prix Attracts A Grand Field

by | Jan 15, 2019 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

This Friday and Saturday nights, the forty fourth Super Sedan Grand Prix will be held at the Gulf Western and Independent Oils Raceway Latrobe, with a great field entered for the two night event.

Two times National Champion Callum Harper, will face his toughest test since the National Title, with 26 drivers entered.

Defending Champion, Matty Pascoe has been in fine form again this season, winning his third feature race of the season last Saturday night. Pascoe, a two times winner of the event (2018 & 2013), is sure to take it right up to Harper, who has won four Feature Races in a row.

The field is incredibly strong with Peter Nicola, Mick Nicola and Lucas Roberts from Victoria entered, with the trio winning ten Victorian Titles between them.

For the first time in many seasons, two West Australian drivers in Kemble and son Lee Aylett are set to compete.

South Australians, Dave Gartner, Kym Jury and Ryan Alexander are all entered, with all three having won Feature Races this season, with Gartner recently winning his fifth South Australian Title, and fourth in a row.

Joining Pascoe from Queensland will be three times National
Champion, Darren Kane, along with Sean Black and Sam Roza, with all four likely to be highly prominent. Kane has won almost every event that there is to win in Speedway, this event is one event he is yet to win.

New South Wales will have Darren Anning, Darryl Moon and Andrew White competing, with Anning finishing second behind Pascoe last Saturday night at Lismore.

The Tasmanian contingent includes David Nichols, who has won the Grand Prix twice in 1994 and 2015, will be strong, as will Steve Latham and Adam Beechey, with Corey Smith set to return as well, making this one event not to miss.

Official Nominations

A1 Callum Harper
V0 Lucas Roberts
V2 Peter Nicola
T3 David Nichols
V3 Mick Nicola
S8 Dave Gartner
T8 Steve Latham
W9 Kemble Aylett
T11 Gil Aylett
Q15 Matty Pascoe
T16 Corey Smith
T19 Brett Dawkins
N21 Darren Anning
N23 Andrew White
T24 Anthony Manion
Q26 Sean Black
Q36 Darren Kane
T41 Adam Beechey
N47 Darryl Moon
S47 Ryan Alexander
T48 Wayne Dillon
T61 Laura Davidson
T71 Robert Bird
Q77 Sam Roza
T79 Jason McPherson
S93 Kym Jury
W99 Lee Aylett

Photo of Callum Harper courtesy of Angryman Photography