by | Jan 20, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

Twenty one drivers are set to contest the Grand National for Super Sedans.

The Grand National is one of the longest running Super Sedan Blue Ribbon events, and it will take place this Friday and Saturday night at AutoKlene Hobart Raceway.

The Grand National has been dominated in recent years by National Champion Matty Pascoe, and Tasmania’s Callum Harper.

Pascoe and Harper have won the last six editions of the event between them, and both drivers will be hoping to reach the top step of the podium on Saturday night.

Victoria’s Jamie Collins will be right in the mix after winning last weekends Tasmanian Super Sedan title.

Collins tasted preliminary night success at the Grand National last year, and will be looking for that same success on night two this time around.

Queensland’s Sean Black and Brad Pascoe filled the podium at the Tasmanian Title last weekend, and will be looking to move up the podium this weekend in Hobart.

Western Australia’s Lee Aylett was right in contention last weekend at Latrobe, up until a big crash ended his charge to the front.

Aylett will be looking to bounce back this weekend, and show the Tasmanian fans what he can do.

Former Grand National winner Lachlan Onley comes into the event in great form after claiming the NSW Late Model Title last weekend.

Onley showed great speed in his couple of Super Sedan appearances in Queensland this season, and will be hoping to bring that speed with him to the Apple Isle.

The local hopes include the aforementioned Harper, as well as Steve Latham, David Nichols and Hobart’s own Laura Davidson.

Davidson was absent from last weekends Tasmanian Title, but has been in sterling form so far this season, and will be looking to take it right up to the best of the best on her home track.

Racing will kick off on Friday at 630pm with drivers taking on three heats each, before a mini feature race.

On Saturday drivers will return for two more rounds of heats before the always exciting pole shuffle which will set the field for the fifty lap feature race.

Super Sedan Grand National

Nominations (21)

A1 Matty Pascoe

N1 Steve Latham

T3 David Nichols

V3 Mick Nicola

W4 Lee Aylett

Q10 Steve Jordan

T12 Luke Gunn

Q18 Brad Pascoe

T18 Dwaine Sonners

T22 Callum Harper

Q26 Sean Black

T26 Peter Johnston

V34 Jamie Collins

N47 Tyson Moon

T48 Wayne Dillon

T49 Aaron Dillon

T52 Brad McMaster

N57 Lachlan Onley

T61 Laura Davidson

T73 Grant Hopkins

Q98 Michael Hally

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;

Angryman Photography

Assurance HR Management

BlackAzz Asphalting

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Nets Tasmania

Platinum Prints

RTW Equipment Sales

Speedway Sedans Australia

Speedway Sedans Tasmania

Tas Plant & Supervision Hire

Total Automotive & 4WD

Turn 2

U3 Designs