by | Dec 19, 2022 | SSA Modified Sedans, WA

Press Release by WA Modified Sedans

Luke Fraser has tonight claimed his second successive round of the 2022/2023 Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan Series at Make Smoking History Collie Speedway in the event sponsored by his parents Peter and Sharon at Civil Hirings.

The opening heat of the night would set the tone for the night’s racing with a hotly contested affair that would see Luke Fraser claim the victory after finding his way past Shane Dubberlin in the early stages of the race. Sam McAuley would also find his way past Dubberlin to finish second, while Shane Dubberlin would finish third ahead of Laurie Dowsett who was sent to the rear of the field for a racing incident earlier in the race and managed to fight his way back to fourth.

Heat two would see Jamie Higgs lead the field out of turns one and two for the first time, as Brandan and Luke Fraser stormed through the field from the last row. Brenden Selleck would settle into second position, where he would sit until the second the last lap when Jamie Higgs would run wide in turns three and four. Brendan Selleck would claim the win ahead of Jamie Higgs and Sam McAuley.

Brendan Selleck would take back-to-back wins to claim the third heat of the night holding off a hard charging Branden Fraser in an epic battle right to the finish. Anthony King would hold off for a third-place finish ahead of Jamie Higgs and Laurie Dowsett who rounded out the top five.

The final heat of the night would see Luke Fraser charge around the outside of the field to take the lead on the opening lap, a place where he would stay for the duration of the race to defeat Laurie Dowsett and Anthony King who managed to hold off the charge from Sam McAuley, Brendan Selleck and Jamie Higgs.

The 3YP Transport Shootout provided some great entertainment once again, as Laurie Dowsett used the shootout to his advantage to gain two positions ahead of the feature race, though it was Luke Fraser who yet again claimed the 3YP Transport Shootout defeating Brendan Selleck.

Luke Fraser, as he has done so many times before led away the field to start the twenty-lap feature race, as Brendan Selleck and Sam McAuley settled into second and third. It wasn’t long before Laurie Dowsett, Branden Fraser and Anthony King decided to buy their way into the battle for third, as the quartet raced in close proximity for a number of laps.

Jamie Higgs was racing a lonely race for seventh before his car caught fire in dramatic fashion on lap 10, bringing on the red lights as Higgs urgently exited the car, leaving an extensively damaged VY Holden Commodore. Thankfully Jamie Higgs only suffered some minor burns to his left foot.

At the half way mark of the race, Luke Fraser would lead the field away from the restart and looked as if he wouldn’t be headed from this point. McAuley and Dowsett resumed hostilities as they battled for third and fourth, which nearly spilled over as the two had a coming together. King also continued to apply the pressure to Branden Fraser to round out the top six.

Brett Mills would bring on the yellow lights with two laps to go as he came to a stop by the wall in turn four, leaving a green, white, checker restart to come. At this point Laurie Dowsett was relegated to the rear of the field for rough conduct.

Branden Fraser was the first driver to make a charge as the green lights came back on, trying his best to get past Sam McAuley to no avail, as Luke Fraser recorded his third round win of the season defeating Brendan Selleck and Sam McAuley. Branden Fraser would finish fourth ahead of Anthony King, Shane Dubberlin, Merv Penn and Laurie Dowsett.

The West Australian Modified Drivers Association would like to thank Civil Hirings once again for their continued sponsorship of Modified Sedan racing in Western Australia and the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway for again hosting a round of our series.

The Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan Series now takes a break of Christmas and New Year. We wish all of our drivers, members and supporters a very Merry Christmas and the happiest of New Years.

Official Result

A Main, 20 Laps- 1. W15 Luke Fraser, 2. W3 Brendan Selleck, 3. W36 Sam McAuley, 4. W2 Branden Fraser, 5. W51 Anthony King, 6. W13 Shane Dubberlin, 7. W17 Merv Penn, 8. W14 Laurie Dowsett. DNF: W22 Brett Mills (17), W84 Jamie Higgs (10). DNS: W18 Adam Houston, W88 Shane Brittain. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.714. Fastest Lap: 19.469 W15 Luke Fraser.