Far Our Show In Far West

by | Jul 7, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The 31st Annual Far Western Championship event was held at Shark Bay Speedway today, with SSA divisions featuring heavily across the program that saw some intense racing across the day.

In the second round of the Speedway Sedan Digest Gold Cup Series for Street Stocks it was a twenty lap feature as the main event for series points, with ten laps raced in either direction. After the opening ten lap stanza going anti clockwise it was Jace Kempton who led the field after holding off Jack Barnewall.

Once the cars turned around and restarted it was Barnewall who applied the blowtorch, Kempton and Barnewall swapping positions a number of times before contact between the two coming onto the main straight saw Barnewall drop back to fourth.

As the laps wound down Barnewall fought his way back into second but it was too little too late, the gap too big to surmount and Kempton claimed the win from Barnewall and local hero (and himself a four time Far Western Champion) Mick Ricetti.

Courtesy of todays results, Barnewall and Kempton are now tied for the lead in the overall SSD Gold Cup points with two rounds remaining.

In the Modified Sedan feature Rick Musarra took out the win over Shark Bay local Mick Reynolds after race leader Blake Jackson succumbed to a flat right rear tyre in the dying stages to come home third.

Chayse Jackson was dominant in the New Star Junior Sedans, winning all three of his heat races before leading every lap of the fifteen lap final to take the win over Mitchell Delaporte and Jack Buzzard, while in the more experienced Top Stars Junior Sedan feature event it was Seth Hinsey who led every lap of the fifteen lap feature to claim his second Far Western Championship over Rory Elsum-Beaumont and Izzak Delaporte.

Feature Results
Street Stocks Feature, 20 laps: 1. W55 Jace Kempton, 2. W16 Jack Barnewall, 3. W67 Mick Ricetti, 4. W51 Scott Elson. DNF: W13 Roger Hewitt (13). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.458. Fastest Lap: 19.107 W16 Jack Barnewall.

Modified Sedan Feature, 15 laps: 1. W21 Rick Musarra, 2. W13 Mick Reynolds, 3. W41 Blake Jackson, 4. W47 Shane Dubberlin. Total Time: 4.42.715. Winning Margin: 1.471. Fastest Lap: 18.494 W47 Shane Dubberlin.

New Star Junior Sedans Feature, 15 laps: 1. W71 Chayse Jackson, 2. W77 Mitchell Delaporte, 3. W79 Jack Buzzard, 4. W16 Alicia Short, 5. W85 Michelle Martin (14). DNF: W17 Travis Strelley (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.776. Fastest Lap: 20.535 W71 Chayse Jackson.

Top Star Junior Sedans Feature, 15 laps: 1. W66 Seth Hinsey, 2. W26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont, 3. W88 Izzak Delaporte, 4. W9 Mitchell Baker, 5. W95 Izak Davies, 6. W48 Brock Reid, 7. W8 Brody Day. DNS: W19 Bradley Short, W86 Ahryn Curtin. Total Time: 5.09.657. Winning Margin: 1.375. Fastest Lap: 20.316 W66 Seth Hinsey.

Story courtesy of Scott Beattie. Photo: Seth Hinsey winner of the Junior Sedan Feature Race.