by | Sep 25, 2022 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Image by GEC Images

Two Time National Street Stock Champion Jamie Oldfield has claimed an historic eleventh career victory in the Brian Rose Memorial/RDA 100 this afternoon at the Allwest Plant Hire Ellenbrook Speedway in Western Australia.

Oldfield led all fifty laps in the main event in the East Pilbara Tyre Service backed two day race meeting which was celebrating its 50th anniversary.

Forty Nine Street Stocks returned for the second day of competition, with the three remaining rounds of heat races a bruising affair as many competitors suffered heavy damage throughout the afternoon.

Pleasant spring conditions brought out a great Sunday afternoon crowd as Jamie Oldfield collected two heat wins on the day to give himself pole position for the decider.

Oldfield shared the front row for the main event with Western Australian Champion Damon Lyall aboard his McCorry Brown Earthmoving Ford Falcon.

The early laps witnessed total domination from Oldfield as he pulled clear of the twenty four car field with Hayden Norman, Lyall and Jace Kempton battling for the minors behind Oldfield.

Carnarvon duo Lyall and Kempton would come together on lap eleven with Lyall spinning causing a stoppage as Kempton would resume the race from the tail of the field.

The restart proved to be no obstacle for Oldfield as he again pulled clear of the field as Norman and Lyall battled for second with Collie’s Cody Avins, Derby’s Jake Hoath and local Ben Norman not far behind.

Lap thirty would see a yellow light fuel stoppage occur to allow the competitors to complete the grueling fifty lap journey with Oldfield the clear leader at that point.

Oldfield again drove away from the field when the race resumed as the battle for the minors intensified as Norman and Lyall raced side by side for many laps with two time National Champion Mick Hamon working his way into fourth place by lap thirty five after starting from position eleven.

Karratha’s Steve O’Dowd would spin his ODH Mechanical Holden Commodore with fourteen laps remaining bringing on the yellow lights.

As the field came to the green flag Jace Kempton and Jamie Goodwin would come together causing a multi-car pile up with Kempton suffering suspension damage on the Novus Glass Holden Commodore ending his race.

The final fourteen laps went through to the chequered flag without a stoppage as Oldfield collected his eleventh victory in his home club’s major annual event by nearly three seconds from Lyall as Mick Hamon rounded out the podium after getting the better of 2018 Western Australian Champion Hayden Norman in the concluding stages in the battle for third.

Ben Norman was officially fifth from Newman’s Craig Clayton and Collie’s Cody Avins slipping back to seventh by race end.

Oldfield’s victory also doubled as the opening round of the 2022/2023 ODH Mechanical Tri-City Series which will continue at the Bunbury Speedway in early November.

Official Result of the 2022 East Pilbara Tyre Service Brian Rose Memorial/RDA 100 for Street Stocks

A Main, 50 Laps- 1. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. WA1 Damon Lyall, 3. W57 Mick Hamon, 4. W6 Hayden Norman, 5. W66 Ben Norman, 6. W35 Craig Clayton, 7. W31 Cody Avins, 8. W626 Jamie Goodwin, 9. W9 Kayne Dellar, 10. W14 Ken Macpherson, 11. W124 Jake Williams, 12. W129 Jake Hoath, 13. W56 Ethan Cooper, 14. W69 Paul Joss, 15. W10 Damon Thomson, 16. W74 Lenny Bates, 17. W79 Josh Stewart, 18. W23 Matt Lowe (49). DNF: W19 Stevie O’Dowd (39), W55 Jace Kempton (36), W52 Shay Roberts (36), W100 Linton Dickerson (31), W2 Marty Kelly (19). DQ: W195 Lachlan Dellar. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.811. Fastest Lap: 22.638 W0 Jamie Oldfield.