by | May 15, 2022 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

National Super Sedan Champion Matty Pascoe has won his eighth Queensland Super Sedan Championship, and his sixth title in a row.

In an event that never looked like going ahead throughout the week due to inclement weather, Pascoe would start from pole position and lead all forty laps.

Newly crowned, and back to back McCosker Super Sedan Series champion Sean Black kicked off his night with a heat win in heat one.

Black would hold off Steve Jordan who finished second, ahead of Zak Hudson in third.

Pascoe would be too strong for the field in heat two, finishing almost seven seconds clear of his son Zac Pascoe in second, who was a further six seconds ahead of Josh McLaren in third.

Gavin Northfield got a heat win for his hometown fans when he took out heat three. Michael Hally would greet the chequers in second, ahead of Ty Pascoe in third.

Jordan secured the win in heat four, cementing himself at the top of the points standings after two heats. Jordan would lead home Mitchell Gee in second, and Justin Randall in third.

Eighteen year old Brad Pascoe continued a strong season, with his first heat win at a Queensland title.

Townsville’s Trent Wilson would finish second, ahead of Hally in third.Another win for the teenagers in heat six, with New South Wales’ Zac Brims greeting the chequered flag first.

Brims was too strong for Mick Nicola in second, and Michael Larsen in third.Gee was too strong for the field in the seventh heat of the night.

Gee was followed home by Hayden Brims in second, and Black crossed the line third.Pascoe put on a show in the penultimate heat of the night.

Railing the top of the track from deep in the field to take out an unbelievable win. Wilson would cross the line second ahead of Brad Pascoe in third.

Kingaroy’s David Musch took out the final heat of the night, ahead of Rod Enman in what was a great battle for the win.

Nicola would round out the podium in third.

Pascoe’s two heat wins would secure pole position with Jordan to join Pascoe on the front row for the forty lap main event.

Pascoe and Jordan would jump away in the early going, with Jordan applying plenty of pressure before the caution lights were out for the first time on lap four which would force Ryan Cats, Brendan Doyle, Carter Armstrong, Bob McCosker, and Glenn Knox to exit the race.

From the resumption Pascoe would be able to build a lead from Jordan, Gee, Black, and Wilson, before the yellows were out on lap fourteen for a stricken Northfield, who would end his night on the infield.

Black would make the first move following the restart, getting by Gee for third on lap fifteen.

Black would then set out after Jordan and would be gifted second position when Jordan exited the race on lap twenty one with a punctured right rear tyre.

Pascoe continued to build his lead before the yellows were out on lap twenty eight for a spinning John Sheehan.

Pascoe wouldn’t succumb to the pressure of a late race restart and would storm away from the field to record another Queensland Title victory.

Black would be the best of the rest finishing comfortably in second place.

Gee would cross the line in third in what was his first ever Queensland Super Sedan Title.

Wilson pressured Gee the whole way to finish fourth, and Michael Hally got the best of Brad Pascoe late in the race to round out the top five.

Official Result of the 2022 SSA Super Sedan Queensland State Title

A Main, 40 Laps- 1. A1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. Q11 Mitchell Gee, 4. Q44 Trent Wilson, 5. Q98 Michael Hally, 6. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 7. V3 Mick Nicola, 8. N77 Hayden Brims, 9. Q12 David Musch, 10. Q28 Zac Pascoe, 11. RK8 Michael Larsen, 12. N29 Zac Brims, 13. Q6 Ty Pascoe, 14. Q8 Rod Enman (38), DNF Q96 Josh McLaren (31), Q10 Steve Jordan (21), Q15 Gavin Northfield (14), Q27 Ryan Cats (5), Q31 Brendan Doyle (4), Q35 Carter Armstrong, Q95 Bob McCosker (4), Q78 Glenn Knox (4), DSQ Q4 John Sheehan.