by | Oct 30, 2022 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Image by Richard Hathway Photography

Despite the bitter cold and the constant threat of rain, Collie Speedway would kick off its 2022/23 season last night, with three divisions of SSA cars contesting events.

SSA Production Sedans would see the biggest field of the night fighting it out, but Rickie Nuccini would be the man of the evening, winning two of the three heat races, then starting on the front row of the feature.

He would race away with the lead as the green flag flew, but former WA Champion Barry Rose would never give up, running right behind him throughout the entire twelve lap distance, diving underneath him on many occasions and even getting the nose in front a couple of times.

Despite this pressure though, Nuccini would lead every lap, just 0.099 seconds ahead with two laps remaining, and go on to claim the win from Rose, with Nuno Mendes snatching third from Graeme Rafferty in the dying stages.

Matt Owens would hold off local hero Damon Thomson and rookie driver Mark Higgins in a depleted SSA Street Stock finale, while in the SSA Junior Sedans former WA Champion Jhy Pack would win two of the three heats then race away in the Top Star finale to defeat Mitch Binning and Kaden Harrison (all pictured below), who got by Makayla Hinsey for the final podium position with just two laps remaining.

In the New Star SSA Junior Sedans it was Dylan Rees who claimed the win ahead of Jesse Hamon and Levi Crowe (pictured above).

Collie Speedway will next be in action on Saturday the 19th of November.

Official Results

Production Sedans Feature, 12 laps: 1. W41 Rickie Nuccini, 2. W181 Barry Rose, 3. W11 Nuno Mendes, 4. W54 Graeme Rafferty, 5. W26 Robbie Trenaman, 6. W65 Keith Fitzgerald (11). DNF: W72 Fish Telenta (8). DNS: W22 Jamie Graham, W57 Kelsey Beard, W86 Wayne Leviston, W92 Ricky Williams. Total Time: 4.16.302. Winning Margin: 0.183. Fastest Lap: 20.913 W11 Nuno Mendes.

Street Stocks Feature, 8 laps: 1. W35 Matt Owens, 2. W10 Damon Thomson, 3. W70 Mark Higgins. DNS: W7 Joshua Aspinall, W19 Paul Joss. Total Time: 2.57.772. Winning Margin: 0.780. Fastest Lap: 21.730 W35 Matt Owens.

Top Star Junior Sedans Feature, 8 laps: 1. W98 Jhy Pack, 2. W10 Mitch Binning, 3. W222 Kaden Harrison, 4. W64 Makayla Hinsey, 5. W25 Alyvia Ferraro, 6. W211 Jimahli Nunn Mohammed Dom, 7. W8 David Hough, 8. W78 Colby Bosley, 9. W33 Teliah Bosley. DNS: W12 Jake Fisher, W48 Deegan Mellor. Total Time: 2.56.574. Winning Margin: 4.860. Fastest Lap: 21.767 Jhy Pack.

New Star Junior Sedans Feature, 8 laps: 1. W101 Dylan Rees, 2. W5 Jesse Hamon, 3. W17 Levi Crowe, 4. W62 Bree Hinsey, 5. W117 Seth Robinson, 6. W11 Hanesshia Nunn Mohammed Dom, 7. W111 Jayden Stads (7), 8. W23 Adam Reynolds (7), 9. W45 Baidyn Matthews (6). DNS: W18 Xavier Gotts. Total Time: 3.03.452. Winning Margin: 7.503. Fastest Lap: 22.611 W101 Dylan Rees.