City Of Gympie Title To Hutchison

by | Dec 2, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Corbets Group Mothar Mountain Speedway produced another night of thrilling action on Saturday night, with the running of the Coolum Beach Getaway Resort Street Stock City of Gympie Title.

A very healthy field of competitors had entered for the event and the racing from the very beginning was nothing short of spectacular. In what was stifling heat, the track held up well and the Street Stocks turned it on. The six heats produced five separate winners; all of which added up to a very interesting feature final.

The 30 lap (2 by 15 laps each way) feature final took a couple of attempts to eventually get underway. Rick Cunning was involved in one of the early stoppages, which meant that he had to then come from the rear. Engine heating problems bought an early end to his title challenge.

Greg Langton was also involved in one of the early problems. Thanks to some great race tape panel repair work from infield officials and the half race stoppage to send cars the other way; Greg was able to battle on to eventually come home a very creditable third in the title.

Peter Thompson battled car issues all through the night. His car for the final was a combination of parts from both Thompson Racing cars that had entered for the title. He led the race for some time; but, was eventually relegated to second at the conclusion of the title. He and his passenger were more than happy with the result.

Travis Hutchison was near the head during all of his heat races. He freely admitted that the half race stoppage and turn around worked perfectly for him. He was very happy to receive his first trophy in the Street Stock class.

A big thank you must go to Coolum Beach Getaway Resort for their
continued support of the Street Stock division in particular and Corbets Group Mothar Mountain Speedway in general.

Heat One, 8 laps: 1. GR23 Robert Trapp, 2. CR3 Darren Ciesiolka, 3. BB82 Travis Hutchison, 4. BB94 Brandon Hough, 5. CR5 Rick Cunning, 6. C99 Peter Thompson, 7. BB93 Fletcher Smith, 8. C77 Samantha Killick. Total Time: 2.50.246. Winning Margin: 0.389. Fastest Lap: 20.256 CR5 Rick Cunning.

Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. G33 Ryan Kahler, 2. G11 David Priddy, 3. SC79 Wade Murie, 4. SB17 Dylan Jarman, 5. M20 Aidan Scott, 6. SB97 Greg Langton, 7. SB27 Dion Wood. DNF: G18 Jayden Snell (0). Total Time: 2.45.768. Winning Margin: 3.465.Fastest Lap: 20.397 G33 Ryan Kahler.

Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. CR5 Rick Cunning, 2. SB17 Dylan Jarman, 3. SC79 Wade Murie, 4. G11 David Priddy, 5. SB97 Greg Langton, 6. BB93 Fletcher Smith, 7. C77 Samantha Killick (6). DNF: G33 Ryan Kahler (4). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.605. Fastest Lap: 20.683 CR5 Rick Cunning.

Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. CR23 Robert Trapp, 2. CR3 Darren Ciesiolka, 3. BB94 Brandon Hough, 4. C99 Peter Thompson, 5. BB82 Travis Hutchison, 6. M20 Aidan Scott, 7. SB27 Dion Wood. Total Time: 2.49.512. Winning Margin: 1.161. Fastest Lap: 20.693CR3 Darren Ciesiolka.

Heat Five, 8 laps: 1. C99 Peter Thompson, 2. BB82 Travis Hutchison, 3. CR3 Darren Ciesiolka, 4. SB17 Dylan Jarman, 5. M20 Aidan Scott. DNF: MSb97 Greg Langton (2). Total Time: 2.48.100. Winning Margin: 1.623. Fastest Lap: 20.480 SB17 Dylan Jarman.

Heat Six, 8 laps: 1. BB94 Brandon Hough, 2. CR5 Rick Cunning, 3. SB27 Dion Wood, 4. CR23 Robert Trapp, 5. SC79 Wade Murie, 6. G11 David Priddy, 7. BB93 Fletcher Smith. DNF: G18 Jayden Snell (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.390. Fastest Lap: 20.675 CR5 Rick Cunning.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. BB82 Travis Hutchison, 2. C99 Peter Thompson, 3. SB97 Greg Langton, 4. CR23 Robert Trapp, 5. SB17 Dylan Jarman, 6. BB94 Brandon Hough, 7. SB27 Dion Wood, 8. CR3 Darren Ciesiolka, 9. M20 Aidan Scott (29), 10. BB93 Fletcher Smith (29). DNF: CR5 Rick Cunning (15), SC79 Wade Murie (12), G18Jayden Snell (11), G11 David Priddy (1).Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.256. Fastest Lap: 20.252 BB82 Travis Hutchison.

Details courtesy of Paul Gannon
Photos courtesy of Mr Click

Travis Hutchison in action on Saturday night

(L:R) Murray Noyce (Coolum Beach Getaway Resort); Greg Langton (3rd); Travis Hutchison (1st); Peter Thompson (2nd) Rodney Cornelison (passenger).