Chris Pavlovich Wins WA Super Sedan Title

by | Feb 9, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Mount Barkers Chris Pavlovich has won the 2018/2019 Speedway Sedans Western Australia Super Sedan State Title held last night at the Makit Hardware Narrogin Speedway.

Pavlovich prevailed narrowly over Gary Higgs who finished runner up in the state title for the fifth time in his career with Busselton’s Kevin Bell rounding out the podium.

Warm Sunny conditions greeted competitors and spectators alike with Gary Higgs Sweet Chassis adjudged to be the Ian Beard Best Presented Car for the WA Super Sedan Title.

The defending WA Super Sedan Champion Warren Minshull from Broome dominated the opening heat race of the night defeating Tristan Green and Lee Aylett who finished third after moving through the field from position eight.

Kevin Bell leading the second heat of the State Title from start to finish but was under intense pressure from Chris Pavlovich and Gary Higgs for the entire ten lap distance.

Heat Three saw Warren Minshull and Steve Larson come together on the opening lap with Minshull falling back through the field. Pavlovich stormed around the outside of the field to win from Dean Shore and Terry Green who briefly came together on the final lap while battling for second place.

Gary Higgs dominated Heat Four winning by a healthy margin from Adyme Harvey and Kevin Bell who was enjoying a consistent night.

The final two heat races of the WA Super Sedan Title witnessed both Gary Higgs and Chris Pavlovich storm through the field in their respective outings giving them enough points to start on the front row for the A Main.

Lee Ayletts suffered mechanical issues with his machine in the final heat race which prevented him from starting the main event.

Tristan Green elected to use his Dad Terrys car for the State Final leaving thirteen cars to battle it out over the thirty five lap distance around the Makit Hardware Narrogin Speedway.

Final Points
1. W8 Chris Pavlovich 100
2. W81 Gary Higgs 95
3. W5 Kevin Bell 87
4. W34 Dean Shore 68
5. W38 Adrian Geary 58
6. W1 Warren Minshull 57
7. W6 Tristan Green 55
8. W88 Adyme Harvey 55
9. W76 Terry Green 54
10. W99 Lee Aylett 46
11. W96 Steve Larson 38
12. W25 Nathan Thiele 31
13. W16 Damo Wallinger 31
14. W63 Tony St Jack 26
15. W55 Brendan McKeagg 21

Chris Pavlovich got the initial jump at the start of the A Main with Higgs and Bell quickly tucking in behind the leader.

The first stoppage of the race occurred on lap eight when a couple of cars at the back of the field got together with them all able to restart.

While running in fifth place Adrian Geary would spin backwards into turn three which saw him sent to the rear of the field.

Defending Champion Warren Minshull would be out on lap thirteen after finding the wall in turn three while running in sixth place.

Damo Wallinger was also out on lap thirteen as Pavlovich and Higgs moved away from the field after every stoppage.

Gary Higgs tried everything to find a way past Pavlovich in the concluding stages with the two often racing side by side for lead.

Pavlovich was equal to every challenge from Higgs with the Mount Barker based driver winning his first WA Super Sedan Title with Gary Higgs runner up for the fifth time in the event.

Kevin Bell finished third once again in after having been third twice previously. Kalgoorlie’s Dean Shore had a lonely race to finish fourth with Adyme Harvey rounding out the top five.

It was a emotional moment for Chris Pavlovich as he thanked his sponsors and supporters for their long time support with the new state champion dedicating his win to his good friend Bert Vosbergen.

Official Result

WA Super Sedan Title A Main, 35 Laps
1. W8 Chris Pavlovich, 2. W81 Gary Higgs, 3. W5 Kevin Bell, 4. W34 Dean Shore, 5. W38 Adrian Geary, 6. W1 Warren Minshull, 7. W6 Tristan Green, 8. W88 Adyme Harvey. 9. W76 Terry Green, 10. W96 Steve Larson, 11. W25 Nathan Thiele, 12. W16 Damo Wallinger, 13. W63 Tony St Jack, 14. W55 Brendan McKeagg
1. W8 Chris Pavlovich, 2. W81 Gary Higgs, 3. W5 Kevin Bell, 4. W34 Dean Shore, 5. W88 Adyme Harvey, 6. W25 Nathan Thiele, 7. W38 Adrian Geary, 8. W6 Tristan Green, 9. W63 Tony St Jack, DNF 10. W55 Brendan McKeagg (21), 11. W96 Steve Larson (21), 12. W16 Damo Wallinger (13), 13. W1 Warren Minshull (13), DNS W99 Lee Aylett, W76 Terry Green, No Time. Winning Margin 1.161. Fastest Time W8 Chris Pavlovich 17.549

Details courtesy of Allan Smallwood Jnr