by | Jan 31, 2021 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Image by Angryman Photography

Callum Harper has taken out his 5th SSA Super Sedans Tasmanian State Title at the Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway last night.

Defending and eight time Tasmanian Champion David Nichols started from pole position, after top qualifier Queensland’s Matty Pascoe opted to start from the outside.

Pascoe jumped to an early lead, with Nichols in hot pursuit. Having started from third Harper lost a spot early to Victoria’s Jamie Collins who showed plenty of early speed. Harper began to work the bottom side of the track after an early yellow light, and worked his way to the front, taking the lead on lap six.

Collins continued his hot start, moving by Pascoe and Nichols to move into second. Collins, Nichols and Pascoe had a great battle for the minor placings whilst never losing touch from Harper.

Nichols was able to get by Collins and began to chase Harper down in traffic. Harper was always able to keep a lap car between himself and Nichols, he would go on to greet the chequered flag just six tenths of a second clear of Nichols.

Pascoe got the best of Collins in lap traffic, with Tasmania’s Adam Beechey rounding out the top five.

Official Result of the 2020/2021 SSA Super Sedans Tasmanian State Title

40 Laps- 1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. T3 David Nichols, 3. N47 Matty Pascoe, 4. V34 Jamie Collins, 5. T14 Adam Beechey, 6. V3 Mick Nicola, 7. T61 Laura Davidson, 8. T48 Wayne Dillon, 9. T7 Nathan Howells (39), 10. T71 Robbie Bird (39), 11. T4 Marcus Alexander (39), 12. S93 Kym Jury (39), 13. T10 Andrew Poke (38), 14. T75 Brendan Flynn (36), DNF T8 Steve Latham (27), T38 Jayden Triffett (12)