by | Dec 23, 2020 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by the Super Sedan Association, Image by 44 Photography

An awesome entry list of twenty seven have nominated for the Lockyer Bins supported round of the McCosker Super Sedan Series on December 30th.

Although a busy time of the year for everyone the Association is pleased to have a couple of interstate drivers and a few of the less travelled Brisbane locals join the field.

The McCosker Series is at the halfway point and, with the last two rounds (Ford Wreckers Redcliffe Summer Slam) yet to be decided at the time of writing, there have only been two winners in the books – Mick Nicola and Sean Black.

Sean Black (Sweet 26) is the most dominant driver in the series thus far with three victories in a row up to the Summer Slam.

The track at Archerfield usually suits his driving style so he will surely be a big chance to extend his win tally (if he hasn’t already after the Summer Slam).

The field is stacked full of potential winners though with Darren Kane (Dominator Aus 1), Matty Pascoe (Sweet 47), Steve Jordan (Sweet 10), Mick Nicola (KO Vic 3), Sam Roza (Sweet 77), Wayne Randall (Challenger 34), Tyson Moon (Sweet 57) and Tania Smith (Rocket 3) all certain to be highly competitive.

The Mick Nicola Rocket (VIC 11) leaf spring car and crate engine combination is getting quite the workout in the series and will have its third different driver behind the wheel on Wednesday night. Victorian Mick Nicola JNR, a previous McCosker Series round winner, is in QLD on holidays and said today “Mick Snr offered for me to drive the car.

Matty proved it is competitive and it looks like it is a lot of fun. It’s always a quality field for the Association rounds and I am looking forward to getting back behind the wheel.” Nicola Jnr is no stranger to the Rocket leaf car having driven one for the first four years of his Super Sedan career. Drivers will contest two rounds of heats.

The top 8 will do a random marble draw with positions 9 to 16 locked into the 30 lap final. Positions 17 through 27 will compete in the B main for the final four transfer positions.It’s going to be a huge night of action that will see early racing from approx.

4.45pm and the main program from 6pm on Wednesday 30th December 2020.

Unfortunately due to COVID restrictions, the pit and spectator areas remain completely separate, this includes before and after racing.


A1 Darren Kane

2 Craig Hammond

3 Tania Smith (NSW)

V3 Mick Nicola (VIC)

5 Gary Pagel

6 Craig Craft

7 Colin Kaine

10 Steve Jordan

11 Mick Nicola Jr (VIC)

19 Dion Bennett (NSW)

20 Nicholas O’Keeffe

26 Sean Black

34 Wayne Randall

35 Carter Armstrong

39 Bob McCosker

44 Trent Wilson

47 Matty Pascoe

48 Rodney Craft

51 Zac Pascoe

57 Tyson Moon (NSW)

63 Justin Smithwick

77 Sam Roza

84 Brendon Kelly

96 Josh McLaren

98 Michael Hally

99 Mark O’Brien

111 Hayden Brims (NSW)

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Lockyer Bins

Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Queensland Speedway Spares

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Rockhampton Mazda

TMS Sportswear

Kempy Race Pipes

Afco Shock Doctor

Barnes Drilling

Topline Australia