by | Nov 8, 2022 | SSA Modified Sedans, WA

Press Release by WA Modified Sedans

This Saturday night, the 2022/2023 Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan Series will return to the Bunbury Speedway for the Totally Independent Tyre Service and Mechanical sponsored second round of the series and the President’s Cup in conjunction with the Bunbury Speedway 50th anniversary race meeting.

Not only are WA Modified Sedans excited to return to the Bunbury bullring, we’re also very pleased to announce a stellar seventeen car field will take part, headlined by West Australian Modified Sedan Champion Jason Batchelor.

Luke Fraser will also be the driver to watch after his victory at round one of the 2022/2023 Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan Series in Moora and will have the very fast Sam McAuley, Laurie Dowsett and Anthony King knocking at his heels.

Shane Dubberlin, Jason Higgs and Jamie Higgs will also be back for this weekend after solid outings at the opening round of the year.

They will however be joined by a whole swag of drivers who will return to the WA Modified Sedan Series for the first time of season 2022/2023, including Branden Fraser, Brendan Selleck, Paul Stevens and Merv Penn.

Flying the hometown flag this weekend will be Adam Houston, who has had mechanical dramas rule him out of the last couple of events and Allan Mortimer who despite delays waiting for engine parts has managed to put a spare engine together so that he could take part in an event at his home track.

As a former WA champion, Mortimer can never be discounted.

This weekend will also see two drivers from Broome in the state’s far north joining the WA Modified Sedan Series, including Ray Clifton who is no stranger to the Modified Sedan ranks and Brent Crookes, who no doubt will turn some heads with the unique sound of his Mazda RX-8.

Shane Brittain, the final entrant for this weekend’s event needs no invitation as the 2007 WA Modified Sedan champion.

In his recently acquired VS Holden Commodore, Shane Brittain will no doubt take very little time to feel right back at home in the Modified Sedan ranks and will be one to watch as he charges his way to the front of the field.

With the current and three former Modified Sedan state champions in the field, along with a number of other drivers in with a chance of winning, Bunbury Speedway will be the place to be this weekend and would not be possible without the support of Anthony and Donna of Totally Independent Tyre Service and Mechanical in Port Kennedy.

On track action will begin from 4:30pm with a huge program in store to celebrate Bunbury’s 50th anniversary.

Official Nominations:

WA1 Jason Batchelor

2 Branden Fraser

3 Brendan Selleck

6 Paul Stevens

13 Shane Dubberlin

14 Laurie Dowsett

15 Luke Fraser

17 Merv Penn

18 Adam Houston

27 Jason Higgs

29 Ray Clifton

36 Sam McAuley

51 Anthony King

74 Allan Mortimer

84 Jamie Higgs

88 Shane Brittain

184 Brent Crookes

2022/2023 Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan Series sponsors:

Batchelor Industries

3YP Transport

RPM Race Products

Totally Independent Tyre Service and Mechanical

Southern Stump and Mulching Services

Civil Hirings

Stevens Ceilings

Kachana Beef

KCM Transport

Speedway Sedans Western Australia

Speedway Sedans Australia Turn 2 Funding

LF Graphix