by | Jan 23, 2022 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans

Image by 44 Photography

Victorian Brock Atkins has claimed the biggest win of his Modified Sedan career on Sunday Night at the Kingaroy Speedway as he crossed the line first in the 10th Annual Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kings Royal.

The Club 36 Innovations Ford Falcon took victory by over four seconds from Gary Pagel who came from position sixteen to be the runner up ahead of Rockhampton’s Brenton Scott.A series of dash events helped sort the field for the Pole Shuffle, B Main & A Main on the third and final night of competition.

The B Main saw a number of stoppages with many cars suffering major damage in a range of different incidents that plagued the race.

Mason Cameron, Mark Raymont, David Head, Shane Langton, Tim Weir & Andrew Dike would be the six cars that advanced into the fifty lap, twenty four car, $10,000 to win main event.

Kye Walters & Aidan Raymont picked up where they left off from two years at the same event by qualifying on the front row.

Raymont got the initial jump from Walters with two time Kings Royal Champion Greg Worling working his way into third place early on.

Todd Atkins headed infield on lap five from fifth position as the SSA Modified Sedans flew around the showgrounds venue.

Drama struck Worling on lap nine as he took his N11 Holden Commodore to the infield, as Raymont maintained his slight advantage over Walters as they began to work their way through lap traffic.

A second major engine failure in a week put an end to the weekend for Nathan Macdonald who had worked his way into the top five by lap fifteen.

Shane Macdonald brought the yellow lights on for the first time in the race on lap twenty five, as the Linmac Automotive Holden Commodore came to a stop on the back straight.

Focus soon turned to the True Design Homes Ford Falcon of Kye Walters with a noticeable steering issue on the left front wheel.

Walters retired from the race during the stoppage as Brock Atkins & Brisbane’s Darran Lester both now found themselves in the top three.

Raymont continued to lead Lester, Atkins, Brodie Boss with Gary Pagel now into the top five with fifteen laps remaining.

Lester bicycled his Ford Falcon in turn four while battling with Atkins for second as the V0 from Hamilton started to close the gap to the leader.

Atkins hit the lead with eleven laps remaining as the right rear tyre of Aidan Raymont began to go flat ending the race for the Cooroy Auto Wreckers Ford Falcon.

Victorian Andrew Dike brought his Holden Commodore to a stop on lap thirty nine as Atkins lead the field away with just ten cars remaining on track.

Darran Lester was another high profile casualty on lap forty one retiring from the runner up position with smoke coming from the rear end of his B59 Ford Falcon.

Atkins negotiated the final circulations of the Kingaroy Speedway to claim the five figure payday, as Gary Pagel again showed his resilience in long races to finish second narrowly ahead of Brenton Scott and Kingaroy local Brett Barron who would be the only four cars to finish on the lead lap.

Atkins was extremely emotion in victory lane as he thanked his sponsors and showed his appreciation to all the members of his family run team.

Atkins celebrating his victory at Kingaroy

The Kingaroy Speedway have already began planning for the 11th Annual Kings Royal to be held in January 2023 as it continues to be the benchmark event for Speedway Sedan racing in this country.

Official Result of the 10th Annual Kings Royal for SSA Modified Sedans.

A Main, 50 Laps- 1. V0 Brock Atkins, 2. MK9 Gary Pagel, 3. RK42 Brenton Scott, 4. SB148 Brett Barron, 5. RK26 Mason Cameron (49), 6. TAS6 Corey Jetson (49), 7. CR8 Rodney Pammenter (49), 8. CR24 David Head (49), DNF G58 Tim Weir (44), T7 Brodie Boss (42), B59 Darran Lester (40), G28 Aidan Raymont (40), V25 Andrew Dike (38), BB81 Dennis Shallcross (32), A1 Kye Walters (25), SC23 Tim Atkin (25), CR72 Shane Langton (25), CR27 Shane Macdonald (25), V61 Matt Nelson (25), N81 Max Clarke (17), CR32 Nathan Macdonald (14), G27 Mark Raymont (11), N11 Greg Worling (8), V36 Todd Atkins (3), Quick Time G28 Aidan Raymont 16.876.