Brims Breaks Through

by | Mar 4, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Ian Brims has won the latest round of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Think Money at the Corbets Group Mothar Mountain Speedway, Gympie.

The race was a case of dejavu for Brims and Sean Black, who at the same venue a month ago put on almost an identical race, except this time Brims would be successful.

Leading into the main event, six qualifying heats were held with Bob McCosker winning the opening heat by a car length. Wayne Randall would win heat two in another close finish, this time over Sam Roza.
Randall backed up his opening round win by taking heat three with a large margin, while Ian Brims had a comfortable win in heat four.
Sean Black and Matt Pascoe both had large victories in the final two qualifiers.

The top six after the preliminaries would be Wayne Randall, Sean Black, Matt Pascoe, Ian Brim, Tania Smith, Sam Roza. The marble draw Ian Brims get the number one marble, while Sam Roza drew two. Tania Smith finally got a marble lower than five, to start out of position three, while Wayne Randall would draw four, with Black and Pascoe to start from five and six respectively.

Sam Roza would not start as oil was spotted pouring out of his in the lead up to the race start.

Brims would immediately take the lead, with Tania Smith getting a good start to move to second place. Sean Black was also making his presence felt in third with Wayne Randall closely behind in fourth.

Matt Pascoe eventually passed Randall on lap ten, while on lap thirteen, Black got the better of Smith to move to second place. Five laps later Smith would drop to fourth, as Pascoe moved to third.

Black as he did in the last round at Gympie, chased Brims through the concluding stages, but this time, there would be no repeat, with Brims holding on by a car length to take his first feature win of the season. Pascoe closed in the concluding stages to finish third, with Smith, Randall and Mark Pagel rounding out the top six.

:: Super Sedans

Heat One, 8 laps: 1. GL39 Bob McCosker, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. B15 Mat Pascoe, 4. N3 Tania Smith, 5. Q19 Tony Brinkman. DNS: Q22 Dale Christensen. Total Time: 2.17.877. Winning Margin: 0.290. Fastest Lap: 16.738 Mat Pascoe.

Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. C6 Wayne Randall, 2. C77 Sam Roza, 3. B76 Ian Brims, 4. RK4 Leigh Williams, 5. G4 Mark Pagel, 6. Q48 Rodney Craft. DNF: C20 Nicholas OKeeffe (3). Total Time: 0.791. Fastest Lap: 16.944 C6 Wayne Randall.

Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. C6 Wayne Randall, 2. Q22 Dale Christensen, 3. B15 Mat Pascoe, 4. G4 Mark Pagel, 5. Q19 Tony Brinkman, 6. Q48 Rodney Craft. Total Time: 3.07.019. Winning Margin: 3.945. Fastest Lap: 16.911 C6 Wayne Randall.

Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. V76 Ian Brims, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3. Q27 Sean Black, 4. C77 Sam Roza, 5. GL39 Bob McCosker. DNF: RK4 Leigh Williams (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.331. Fastest Lap: 17.152 B76 Ian Brims.

Heat Five, 8 laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3. C77 Sam Roza, 4. B76 Ian Brims, 5. GL39 Bob McCosker. Total Time: 2.17.602. Winning Margin: 3.647. Fastest Lap: 16.899 Q26 Sean Black.

Heat Six, 8 laps: 1. B15 Mat Pascoe, 2. G4 Mark Pagel, 3. C6 Wayne Randall, 4. Q22 Dale Christensen, 5. Q19 Tony Brinkman, 6. Q48 Rodney Craft. Total Time: 2.16.955. Winning Margin: 3.344. Fastest Lap: 16.839 B15 Mat Pascoe.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. B76 Ian Brims, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. B15 Mat Pascoe, 4. N3 Tania Smith, 5. C6 Wayne Randall, 6. G4 Mark Pagel, 7. GL39 Bob McCosker, 8. RK4 Leigh Williams (29), 9. Q19 Tony Brinkman (29). DNF: Q22 Dale Christensen (17), Q48 Rodney Craft (4). DNS: C77 Sam Roza. Total Time: 10.49.943. Winning Margin: 0.350. Fastest Lap: 17.211 B76 Ian Brims.

Photo courtesy of 44 Photography