by | Dec 29, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release Courtesy of the Super Sedan Association.

Hayden Brims has romped to his third McCosker Super Sedan Series victory of the season in round seven brought to you by Integrity Extended Warranties at Gympie Speedway.

Brims was in commanding form, and fired a significant warning shot to the rest of the field in the lead up to the 2023 Ian Boettcher Classic.

Michael Hally fought hard for his win in the opening heat of the night, taking home a narrow victory over Matt Williams and Victorian Todd Atkins.

Tasmanian Callum Harper took the victory in heat two, leading home New South Wales Champion Matty Pascoe in second, and Hayden Brims in third.

Zac Brims dominated proceedings in heat three, leading the way from Queensland Champion Brad Pascoe in second, and New South Welshman Tyson Moon in third.

Hayden Brims was victorious in heat four, taking the win again from Brad Pascoe in second, and his brother Zac Brims in third.

Sam Hughes won a tight affair in heat five with the top three finishing under a blanket. Justin Randall crossed the line second just 0.147 seconds behind Hughes, with Hally close behind in third.

Victorian Brock Atkins got the best of the field in heat six, taking the win from Harper in second, and New South Welshman Andrew White in third.

Zac Brims claimed his second heat win of the night in heat seven, ahead of Matty Pascoe in second, and Randall in third.

Hayden Brims made it two in a row for the Brims brothers in heat eight, also claiming his second heat win of the night. Atkins crossed the line second ahead of his team mate Moon in third.

David Musch claimed the final heat of the night, taking the win from Zac Pascoe in second, and Sam Hughes in third.

The Brims brothers locked out the front row for the thirty five lap main event. Hayden started from pole position with Zac on his outside. Atkins and Harper occupied the second row.

Hayden jumped to the lead from pole position as Zac settled into second.

The first caution was out before a lap could be completed following a significant melee down the dog leg on the back straight.

Andrew White’s race ended with steering damage from the opening lap incident.

Hayden again took the ascendancy from the restart as he launched into the lead. Zac was right behind in second, as Atkins and Harper completed the first lap side by side before Atkins edged ahead out of Pagels corner on lap two.

Hally exited the race from seventh on lap five, succumbing to a flat right rear tyre following the opening lap incident.

Hayden continued to lead from Zac, Atkins, Harper, Matty Pascoe and Brad Pascoe.

The yellows were out again on lap seven after Ryan Harris spun in the hairpin.

Harper capitalised on the restart to take third position from Atkins, who lost another position to Matty Pascoe into the hairpin.

The caution light was out again the following lap for a spinning Harry Doyle. Atkins, Williams, Musch and Doyle all retired under caution leaving fourteen cars circulating for the final twenty six laps.

Harper again made a move from the restart sailing around the outside of Zac Brims to take second place.

Moon moved to fifth displacing Brad Pascoe, as Matty Pascoe worked on the outside of Zac Brims.

Moon bought into the battle, and Pascoe and Moon both passed Brims out of Pagels corner in an awesome display for the Gympie fans.

Moon moved forward again, taking third position from Pascoe into the hairpin.

Up front Brims had built a massive lead over the battle for second, as Moon got on to the tail of Harper, with Pascoe in pursuit of the chasing duo.

Pascoe came to a sudden stop out of the hairpin with six laps remaining, bringing out the final caution of the race.

Brims shot away in the closing stages to cross the line for his third win of the season.

Harper crossed the line in second, just clear of Moon who rounded out the podium in third.

Brad Pascoe was next across the line in fourth after an epic battle with Justin Randall in the final six laps.

Randall rounded out the top five ahead of Matty Pascoe who recovered after going to the rear with six laps left.

Zac Brims finished seventh, ahead of Hughes in eighth, Zac Pascoe in ninth, and Rob Hamilton rounded out the top ten.

Attention now turns to the Ian Boettcher Classic at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway to be contested by forty two cars over two epic nights!

McCosker Super Sedan Series Round Seven
A Main – 35 laps
1. N77 Hayden Brims, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. N47 Tyson Moon, 4. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 5. Q33 Justin Randall, 6. N1 Matty Pascoe, 7. N29 Zac Brims, 8. B4 Sam Hughes, 9. B6 Zac Pascoe, 10. B11 Rob Hamilton (34), 11. LV42 Michael Taylor (32), LV26 Bradley White (32), DNF N88 Ryan Harris (28), V36 Todd Atkins (22), N57 Brock Atkins (9), RK3 Matt Williams (9), Q12 David Musch (9), RK31 Harry Doyle (9), C98 Michael Hally (5), N23 Andrew White (0), DNS Q47 Barry Craft

The Super Sedan Association is proudly supported by;
McCosker Contracting
AFCO Shock Doctor (ASD)
Ash Media
Brims Coastal Cement
Cush Clothing Co
Down Under Graphics
Fusion Graphix & Signs
Ian Boettcher Race Parts (IBRP)
Integrity Extended Warranties
Kempy Race Pipes
Larsen Air Conditioning Hire
QLD Coast Concrete
Think Investment Realty