by | Apr 1, 2024 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Press Release Courtesy of Speedway Sedans Western Australia.

In a race that had a piece of everything, Kye Blight became the first driver in over a decade to win back-to-back SSA Production Sedan WA Titles as he won the 2024 Northern Aspect Construction SSA Production Sedan WA Title at the IFuels Carnarvon Speedway.

It will say Blight started from the pole to take the win, but it was not that easy as he downed National Champion Kyle Sayer and Jake Blight who started from position ten.

In a race that had three different leaders and six lead changes, it would be Blight and Sayer that led the field to the green for the Main Event but it was Hayden Thomas who made the most of the wide Carnarvon surface as he rolled to the top side of the race track trying to get the better of the lead duo but the race would only last the opening lap until Tylar Main spun on turn one.

Blight would lead the field back to green but was straight under fire as Thomas railed the top side to take the lead and Sayer found the bottom side to his liking to get himself into third.

The yellows would come on again after four laps as Jace Kempton came to a stop and his night came to an end early after transferring from the B-Main.

When the race went back to green Jorj Park tried to follow Thomas high side antics and started his attack for a top three position, but it was Sayer and Thomas who switched positions four times over a 5-lap span.

Further back in the field B-Main winners Aydan Trewern and Josh Fraser started to make their way up the field.

Ten laps in Thomas started to slip up on the cushion and the mistakes allowed Sayer to clear ahead and Blight move back to third place while Nuno Mendes and Park clawed their way into the picture as Mendes got his way into third.

Sayer would slip up only once and it cost him. On lap fourteen Blight would slide ahead of Sayer and from there on in, it was a race to keep in touch with the State Champion.

We would go yellow again on lap 18 for Peter Katona as he was up against the back straight concrete wall. On this yellow light, Mendes would be relegated two positions as he was deemed to have passed for third on the infield.

This was the restart Jake Blight needed, boosting himself up the field fast using the bottom side of the race track, picking up two positions to be behind Park and Thomas until the driver from Geraldton’s dream night would come to an end when he pulled off the track with mechanical woes.

The final yellow was for Clint Noakes on lap 24 when he also slowed and was unable to get off the track just as the feature was finally starting to take shape.

Park would take over Thomas’ spot on the top side of the track as he and the younger Blight would continue to race side by side while Kye continued to extend his lead over Sayer.

The race for fifth was on for young and old as Fraser, Mendes and Trewern swapped spots as the trio battled to the end.

But they were all no match for Blight, and with the win, he now takes the sole position of third in the all-time win list for SSA Production Sedan WA Titles with three, only trailing his dad, Darren (four wins) and inaugural Hall of Fame member Ron Belfield (five).

A-Main GRID, 40 Laps: 1. WA1 Kye Blight, 2. A1 Kyle Sayer, 3. WA77 Jorj Park, 4. W43 Hayden Thomas, 5. W11 Nuno Mendes, 6. W13 Drew Ogle, 7. W23 Clint Noakes, 8. WX4 Mitch Killeen, 9. W7 Tylar Main, 10. W61 Jake Blight, 11. WA3 Ben Norman, 12. W16 Peter Katona, 13. W91 Sean Bowen, 14. W31 Kane McDiarmid, 15. W84 Jamie Higgs, 16. W5 Josh Fraser, 17. W12 Aydan Trewern, 18. W17 Jace Kempton, 19. W6 Hayden Norman, 20. W22 Jamie Graham, 21. W86 Wayne Leviston, 22. W57 Rohan Thomas.


WA1 Kye Blight, 3. A1 Kyle Sayer, 3. W61 Jake Blight, 4. W77 Jorj Park, 5. W11 Nuno Mendes, 6. W12 Aydan Trewern, 7. W5 Josh Fraser, 8. W13 Drew Ogle, 9. WA3 Ben Norman, 10. W31 Kane McDairmaid, 11. W6 Hayden Norman, 12. W7 Tylar Main, 13. W86 Wayne Leviston (39), 14. W57 Rohan Thomas (38), DNF: W23 Clint Noakes (23), W91 Sean Bowen (21), W43 Hayden Thomas (20), WX4 Mitch Killeen (19), W16 Peter Katona (17), W84 Jamie Higgs (5), W17 Jace Kempton (4), W22 Jamie Graham (2), Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.956, Fastest Lap: 19.188 W43 Hayden Thomas.