by | Apr 9, 2022 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks

Press Release by Morgan Melvin

Already a titleholder in three different Speedway categories, last night Kye Blight added the Race of Champions crown to his career list at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway.

Starting off pole when qualifying winner Beau Riley elected to take the rear of the field challenge, Blight was untouched throughout the 20 laps special event over Richard Nelson and Mitch Baker.

The race went without drama until the last five laps when second-place runner Jamie Oldfield slowed, allowing Beau Riley to go from 11th to the second place, but somehow his window net became dislodged, and he was disqualified from the event.

As it is for every final event at Collie since 1995, the Bill Sibbald King of the Road concluded the evening with Local Jake Avins taking the win.

Avins wasn’t the first to cross the line, as he and Riley had an epic race for the final 15 laps after race leader Blight struck trouble and pulled infield.

They were giving the locals fresh air as the pair ran side-by-side for most of the event.

Riley would pass Avins for the lead going into turn one for the final time but was deemed to have given roughly, handing it back to Avins with Graeme Rafferty finishing as runner-up.

Oldfield was able to shake off the problems in his Race of Champions Feature as he won the Street Stock Classic.Starting on pole, he held off challenges from several drivers throughout the entire 40-lap distance to win ahead of Ethan Genev and Jake Williams.

Street Stocks put on some brilliant racing all night, but there was also some chaos with two rollovers over the night with Damon Thomson and Tim Coxall ending up upside down.

Thomson was able to rebound and come back for his next heat, where he finished second, while Coxall was not seen for the rest of the night.

Matthew Thomson was never headed all night long for his final event as a Junior Sedan at the venue as he took out the Top Star Prince of the Road while Baxter Trouchet was too strong for the New Star Field.

RACE OF CHAMPIONS, 20 Laps: 1. W4 Kye Blight, 2. W60 Richard Nelson, 3. W9 Mitchell Baker, 4. T10 Michael Hamon, 5. W88 Shane Brittain, 6. W11 Anthony King, 7. W4 Jeff Genev, 8. W44 Wayne Watson, 9. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 10. W181 Barry Rose, DISQ: W40 Beau Riley

Production Sedans Feature Race, 40 Laps: 1. W11 Jake Avins, 2. W54 Graeme Rafferty, 3. W40 Beau Riley, 4. W9 Mitchell Baker, 5. W86 Wayne Leviston, 6. W26 Robbie Trenaman, 7. W57 Kelsey Beard, DNF: W4 Kye Blight, W41 Rickie Nuccini, W60 Richard Nelson, W88 Shane Brittain, W22 Jamie Graham, W181 Barry Rose

Street Stock Feature, 40 Laps: 1. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 2. W4 Ethan Genev, 3. W24 Jake Williams, 4. W44 Brodie Dunn, 5. W68 Justin Hurst, 6. W70 Scott Hunter, 7. W19 Steve Rodley DNF: W10 Damon Thomson, W183 Daniel Ameduri, T10 Matt Hammond, DNS: W28 Tim Coxall, DISQ: WA44 Peter Herbert

Top Star Junior Sedan Feature Race, 20 Laps: 1. W15 Matthew Thomson, 2. W29 Deagan McNally, 3. W43 Jorja Davies, 4. W64 Makayla Hinsey, 5. W18 Harrison Beres, 6. W25 Alyvia Ferraro, 7. W49 Jasmine Kennedy

New Star Junior Sedan Feature Race, 15 Laps: 1. W34 Baxter Trouchet, 2. W12 Jake Fisher, 3. W8 David Hough, 4. W18 Lucas Ward, 5. W5 Jesse Hamon, 6. W173 Kaden Harrison, 7. W62 Bree Hinsey, 8. W44 Shayata Herbert, 9. W95 Lara Edwards, 10. W88 Hudson Gallegos, DNF: W82 Shophie Amato, DNS: W70 Jake Leeman.