Blackwell The New Victorian Champion

by | Mar 10, 2020 | SSA Modified Sedans, VIC

Author- By Kellie Atkins from Speedway Sedans Victoria

Andrew Blackwell has etched his name again into the record books now becoming the most successful Victorian driver after winning the SSA Modified Sedan Victorian Title for the fourth time at Timmis Speedway, Mildura.

Blackwell and Mark Carlin had both won the Victorian Title three times each and after Sunday nights A Main Blackwell has undisputedly earnt the honour of most successful Victorian driver.

During the heats Blackwell chalked up a fourth place and a second place on the first night of the Title which then saw him run third in one of the preliminary finals.

The second night Blackwell was involved in both of the fiercest heats of the weekend which had him place second to Cameron Waters and winning his last heat to secure a third position on the grid for the final behind Brody Chrystie and David Smith respectively.

National champion Kye Walters was the ultimate top point scorer but unfortunately due to an engine issue withdrew his car from competition and elected to start in the Matt Nelson car as a substitute car from the rear of the field as per regulations.

Second place was taken by local driver Jake Drewett, third place went to Cameron Waters who put in a “monster” effort after dropping all of the first night heats due to other

Fourth place was David Smith and fifth went to Wade McCarthy both of Mildura also.

Article by Kellie Atkins

Official Result (Top Ten)

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. N7 Andrew Blackwell, 2. MDA18 Jake Drewett, 3. MDA16 Cameron Waters, 4. MDA19 David Smith, 5. MDA66 Wade McCarthy, 6. MDA6 Peter McCarthy, 7. Q59 Darran Lester, 8. SA88 Paul Hayes (39), 9. W93 Toby Carmichael (38) 10. MDA33 Taleah Dolic (36)