Black With Classic Rumble Victory

by | Feb 19, 2018 | Latest News, Results


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Sean Black has won round eleven of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Think Money at the Lismore Speedway on Saturday night.

Black, who started on the third row of the grid, dropped as low as seventh before coming through the field, resulting in a great final ten laps with Justin Randall.

Randall would start on the front row with Matt Pascoe for the forty lap Trevan Ford Super Sedan Rumble, with the duo running side by side through the opening laps.

Wayne Randall, Jack Childs and Mark Obrien were all early casualties from the race, all lasting three laps or less.

On the resultant restart, Pascoe opened a handy lead, tearing up the Lismore circuit, before another stoppage, this time for Darren Kane who spun as a result of a flat tyre. Grant Shaw and Shane Lau would also retire on lap seven, but it would be retirement of Matt Pascoe that would shake up the field.

Pascoe pulled infield as the lights went green, elevating Ian Brims to the lead, followed by Randall and Gavin Northfield. Brims time in the lead ended on lap fifteen, promoting Justin Randall to the lead followed by Northfield and Sean Black.

Black made his move on Northfield on lap twenty three to move into second place, and then set out after Randall.

In a classic final ten laps, Black took the lead on lap thirty one, only to have Randall take the lead back on lap thirty five. Black made the decisive move with two laps remaining, taking the lead back, eventually downing a gallant Justin Randall by 1.844 seconds.

Northfield raced the last twelve laps basically by himself, while Bob McCosker narrowly beat Kyall Fisher to the line, with the pair finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

Many drivers in the field will now focus on the upcoming Speedway Sedans Australia, National Super Sedan Title at the Valvoline Raceway in two weeks time.

Heat One, 10 laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. B15 Matt Pascoe, 3. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 4. CR71 Shayne Lau, 5. SSA24 Jack Childs, 6. S26 Sean Black, 7. CR99 Mark OBrien, 8. SUM21 David Mortimer (9). DNF: C6 Wayne Randall (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.528. Fastest Lap: 13.82 B15 Matt Pascoe.

Heat Two, 10 laps: 1. GL39 Bob McCosker, 2. S76 Ian Brims, 3. RK4 Leigh Williams. 4. SSA0 Justin Randall, 5. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 6. SSA22 Dale Christensen, 7. N3 Tania Smith, 8. RK7 Grant Shaw, 9. Q91 Ed Doherty. Total Time: 2.16.056. Winning Margin: Not Available. Fastest Lap: 14.244 SSA76 Ian Brims.

Heat Three, 10 laps: 1. B15 Matt Pascoe, 2. C6 Wayne Randall, 3. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 4. N3 Tania Smith., 5. SSA76 Ian Brims, 6. SSA22 Dale Christensen, 7. GL39 Bob McCosker. DNF: RK4 Leigh Williams (5), CR71 Shayne Lau (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: Not Available. Fastest Lap: 13.993 B15 Mat Pascoe.

Heat Four, 10 laps: 1. SSA26 Sean Black, 2. A1 Darren Kane, 3. SSA0 Justin Randall, 4. Q32 Kyle Fisher, 5. Q91 Ed Doherty, 6. SSA24 Jack Childs, 7. SUM21 David Mortimer. DNF: CR99 Mark OBrien (2). DNS: RK7 Grant Shaw. Total Time: 2.28.182. Winning Margin: 1.696. Fastest Lap: 13.766 A1 Darren Kane.

Heat Five, 10 laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. SSA26 Sean Black, 3. N3 Tania Smith, 4. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 5. SSA0 Justin Randall, 6. Q91 Ed Doherty. DNF: CR99 Mark OBrien (4), SSA24 Jack Childs (2). Total Time: 3.54.751. Winning Margin: 0.717. Fastest Lap: 13.917 A1 Darren Kane.

Heat Six, 10 laps: 1. SSA76 Ian Brims, 2. RK7 Grant Shaw, 3. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 4.C6 Wayne Randall, 5. SSA22 Dale Christensen, 6. GL39 Bob McCosker, 7. SUM21 David Mortimer. DNF: B15 Matt Pascoe (1). Total Time: 2.34.885. Winning Margin: 7.245. Fastest Lap: 13.963 SSA76 Ian Brims.

Feature, 40 laps: 1. SSA26 Sean Black, 2. SSA0 Justin Randall, 3.Q15 Gavin Northfield, 4. GL39 Bob McCosker, 5. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 6. SSA22 Dale Christensen (39), 7. Q91 Ed Doherty, 8. SUM21 David Mortimer (38). DNF: SSa76 Ian Brims (17), B15 Matt Pascoe (7), A1 Darren Kane (7), RK7 Grant Shaw (7), CR71 Shayne Lau (7), CR99 Mark OBrien (3), C6 Wayne Randall (2), SSA24 Jack Childs (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.844. Fastest Lap: 14.284 SSA76 Ian Brims.

Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series Sponsors

Afco Shock Doctor
B&J Car Sales
Think Investment Realty
Brims Concrete
Barnes Drilling
Queensland Speedway Spares
Think Money
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Tanias Ts
Motorsports Promotions Racegear
McCosker Contracting
Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
Speedway Sedans Australia