by | Feb 21, 2022 | SSA Super Sedans

Sean Black has won his second McCosker Super Sedan Series round in a row after taking the win in round eleven at Lismore Speedway Six different drivers shared the spoils in heat race action.

Steve Jordan, Michael Hally, Tania Smith, Zac Brims, Matty Pascoe and Trent Wilson all won a heat each.

Mitchell Gee was the top point scorer after two second placed finishes in two rounds of heats and would go on to record the fastest time in the gold shoot out to earn pole position, with Black alongside on the front row.

Gee was ultra aggressive into turn one sliding across the nose of Black causing some damage to the Q26.

A complete restart was ordered by the officials and Gee would settle into the lead at the resumption with Black in second and Smith in third.

Gee got out to a small lead, but Black was able to keep close up until the second caution of the race on lap thirteen for a spinning Michael Taylor.

From the Delaware double file restart Justin Randall and Hally both got by Smith to move into third and fourth respectively.

Randall would exit the race on lap twenty four with mechanical dramas promoting Hally to third.

The race heated up late with Gee and Black running side by side in lapped traffic. Gee was deemed to have brought a lap car unstuck which brought on the caution lights, and he would be sent to the rear with two laps remaining.

Black would lead the final two circulations to record his second round win in a row! Hally ran an impressive second, Jordan would cross the line third.

National Champion Matty Pascoe stormed through the field after starting fifteenth to finish fourth, and Smith would round out the top five at her home track.

Official Result

A Main – 30 laps 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q98 Michael Hally, 3. Q10 Steve Jordan, 4. A1 Matty Pascoe, 5. N3 Tania Smith, 6. Q12 David Musch, 7. N77 Hayden Brims, 8. N29 Zac Brims, 9. V3 Mick Nicola, 10. Q44 Trent Wilson, 11. Q20 Josh McLaren, 12. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 13. T3 David Nichols, 14. Q6 Ty Pascoe 15. Q42 Michael Taylor, 16. Q36 Mitchell Gee, DNF Q71 Shayne Lau (28), Q4 John Sheehan (26), Q33 Justin Randall (24), Q15 Gavin Northfield (6) DNS T8 Steve Latham, Q28 Zac Pascoe, Q5 Ben Robertson, Q47 Barry Craft

The Super Sedan Association McCosker Super Sedan Series is proudly sponsored by

Redcliffe Towing

Superior Pak

Integrity Warranties

Rockhampton Mazda

Kempy Race Pipes

Brims Costal Cement

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Cush Clothing

Topline Australia

Tasman Racewear

Qld Speedway Spares

AFCO Shock Doctor

Fusion Graphics & Signs

Ash Media