by | Jan 1, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

Sean Black has done it for the locals on New Years Eve, on the opening night of the 10K to win Ian Boettcher Classic at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

Callum Harper would secure quick time in qualifying and get his weekend off to the perfect start.Fresh out of Junior Sedans JJ Hamilton went second quick, and IBRP’s own Darren Kane went third quickest in qualifying.

Harper would launch from P8 in the opening heat race of the night, and storm right through the field to take the win.

Zac Pascoe set about digging himself out of a qualifying hole by winning heat two.Victoria’s Lucas Roberts would win one for the southern states in heat three, narrowly holding off Michael Hally.

‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan would win a frenetic fourth heat race where the top three cars were separated by just three tenths of a second.Lachlan Onley continued his strong form after returning to the division with a win in heat five.

National Champion Matty Pascoe would narrowly hold out Townsville’s Trent Wilson to claim heat six.Rockhampton’s Andrew Roberts perhaps claimed the biggest win of his young Super Sedan career, with a win in heat seven.

Toowoomba’s own Sean Black dominated from go to woe in the final heat of the night, and would claim heat eight.

A stout field greeted the green flag in the B Main. Zac Pascoe would take a comfortable win to transfer to the A Main, alongside Damon Musch, Michael Hally, and Michael Larsen.

The prelim A Main would be an all Tasmanian front row lock out with Callum Harper set to start from pole position, with Adam Beechey on his outside.

Beechey would lead from the outset leading the battle of the Tasmanian’s.

It would be short lived however as Junior Sedan graduate JJ Hamilton stormed to the lead on lap four.

Black would make his way through to second on lap five and set about chasing down the rookie Hamilton.

Hamilton would get out to a straight away lead when he hit lapped traffic with ten laps to run.

Black reeled in the lead, and used every bit of his experience to take the lead with four laps to run.

Black would go on to secure victory just over a second clear of the youngster Hamilton in second.

Harper would duke it out with his rival Matty Pascoe to secure third. Pascoe would greet the chequers in fourth, narrowly clear of Mitchell Gee in fifth.

We will be back tomorrow night for a further round of heats before a couple of dashes, and the ever exciting pole shuffle to set the field for the thirty six lap 10k to win Ian Boettcher Classic!

Ian Boettcher Classic Prelim A Main – 25 laps1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q48 JJ Hamilton, 3. T22 Callum Harper, 4. A1 Matty Pascoe, 5. Q11 Mitchell Gee, 6. T14 Adam Beechey, 7. Q44 Trent Wilson, 8. Q36 Darren Kane, 9. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 10. N77 Hayden Brims, 11. N29 Zac Brims, 12. N57 Lachlan Onley, 13. V0 Lucas Roberts, 14. N47 Tyson Moon, 15. Q28 Zac Pascoe, 16, Q8 Michael Larsen, 17. Q10 Steve Jordan 18. Q98 Michael Hally (24), 19. V3 Mick Nicola (24), 20. Q12 Damon Musch (24).

Image by Matthew Paul Photography.