Black And Kane Win Grand National Preliminaries

by | Jan 26, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Sean Black and Darren Kane have won the two preliminary Feature Races on the opening night of the Super Sedan Grand National, at the Solo Hobart Speedway on Friday night.

Black would lead all the way in the first final, in what turned out to be an exciting finish.

Black and Matty Pascoe would start on the front row with Black leading Pascoe, Corey Smith and Callum Harper through the early laps.

Harper moved to third on lap five, while Corey Smith after being fourth on lap six, found himself in second on lap seven, as Pascoe dropped to fourth in a great three way battle for the minor placings behind Black.

Pascoe regained second placed two laps later, as the placings continually changed behind the leader, before Smith retired three laps from the finish. This also saw Harper move to second, as he as Pascoe replicated what they did a week ago at Latrobe in the Grand Prix. Pascoe would regain second place as the pair remained right behind Black, with the trio separated by 0.541 at the chequered flag. David Nichols Mick Nicola Snr and Adam Beechey would complete the top six.

The second Preliminary Feature would see all the twists come at the end of the race, with Dave Gartner and Lucas Roberts starting on the front row. Gartner got the best of the start with Robert initially passed by Ryan Alexander who quickly set out after his fellow South Australian.

Darren Kane made his move on lap six, taking third place from Roberts, before taking second place from Alexander on lap ten. His ascension to the top was complete on lap twelve passing Gartner to take the lead. Gartner was then passed by Alexander, as the pair traded second place for the remaining three laps, with Kane winning by five car lengths. Lucas Roberts, Mick Nicola Jnr and Steve Jordan literally crossed the line together to complete the top six.

More qualifying heats will be held on Saturday night before the fifty lap Main event.

Grand National Night One
::Super Sedans
Heat 1, 10 laps: 1. Q1 Mat Pascoe, 2. Q10 Steve Jordan, 3. S8 Dave Gartner, 4. T3 David Nichols, 5. N23 Andrew White, 6. T48 Wayne Dillon. DNF: T8 Steve Latham. Total Time: 2.32.115. Winning Margin: 4.785. Fastest Lap: 14.954 Q1 Mat Pascoe.

Heat 2, 10 laps: 1.T16 Corey Smith, 2. A1 Darren Kane, 3. T22 Callum Harper, 4. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. N21 Darren Anning, 7. T47 Lucas Dillon. Total Time: 2.31.973. Winning Margin: 0.096. Fastest Lap: 14.814 T22 Callum Harper.

Heat 3, 10 laps: 1. S47 Ryan Alexander, 2. V0 Lucas Roberts, 3. T41 Adam Beechey, 4. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 5. N17 Lachlan Onley, 6. T24 Anthony Manion. DNF: S93 Kym Jury (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.785. Fastest Lap: 15.045 S36 Ryan Alexander.
Heat 4, 10 laps: 1. Q1 Mat Pascoe, 2. S8 Dave Gartner, 3. T16 Corey Smith, 4. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 5. T47 Lucas Dillon. DNF: N21 Darren Anning (0). Total Time: 2.31.197. Winning Margin: 0.486. Fastest Lap: 14.931 S8 Dave Gartner.

Heat 5, 10 laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. T41 Adam Beechey, 4. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 5. T48 Wayne Dillon, 6. Q10 Steve Jordan. DNF: N23 Andrew White. Total Time: 2.33.433. Winning Margin: 0.901. Fastest Lap: 15.175 V3 Mick Nicola Snr.

Heat 6, 10 laps: 1. V0 Lucas Roberts, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. S93 Kym Jury, 4. S47 Ryan Alexander, 5. N17 Lachlan Onley, 6. T24 Anthony Manion, 7. T3 David Nichols. Total Time: 2.37.818. Winning Margin: 0.881. Fastest Lap: 15.509 Q26 Sean Black.

Heat 7, 10 laps: 1. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 2. Q10 Steve Jordan, 3. Q1 Mat Pascoe, 4. T16 Corey Smith, 5. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 6. A1 Darren Kane, 7. T47 Lucas Dillon. Total Time: 2.37.258. Winning Margin: 0.494. Fastest Lap: 15.293 V3 Mick Nicola Snr.

Heat 8, 10 laps: 1. S8 Dave Gartner, 2. T3 David Nichols, 3. T22 Callum Harper, 4.T41 Adam Beechey, 5. T48 Wayne Dillon, 6. S93 Kym Jury. Total Time: 2.37.530. Winning Margin: 1.928. Fastest Lap: 15.442 T41 Adam Beechey.

Heat 9, 10 laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. N17 Lachlan Onley, 3. S47 Ryan Alexander, 4.N23 Andrew White, 5. V0 Lucas Roberts, 6. T24 Anthony Manion. Total Time: 2.38.671. Winning Margin: 3.024. Fastest Lap: 15.647 Q26 Sean Black.

Odd Final, 15 laps: 1.Q26 Sean Black, 2.Q1 Mat Pascoe, 3.T22 Callum Harper, 4. T3 David Nichols, 5. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 6. T41 Adam Beechey, 7.S93 Kym Jury, 8.T47 Lucas Dillon. DNF: T16 Corey Smith (12), T48 Wayne Dillon (7), T7 Nathan Howells (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.269. Fastest Lap: 15.792 Q1 Mat Pascoe.

Even Final, 15 laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. S47 Ryan Alexander, 3. S8 Dave Gartner, 4.V0 Lucas Roberts, 5.V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 6. Q10 Steve Jordan, 7. N17 Lachlan Onley, 8. V2 Peter Nicola, 9. N23 Andrew White. DQ: T24 Anthony Manion. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.571. Fastest Lap: 15.997 S8 Dave Gartner.

Sean Black in full flight, Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography.