by | Jul 6, 2021 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Image by Jon Gall Photography

Twenty One SSA Production Sedans are heading to the tight confines of the Shark Bay Speedway this weekend for the 34th Annual Far Western Championships.

The biggest entry list seen for the Far Western Championships since 2012 will descend on one of the most remote Speedway venues in Australia located in the township of Denham which is home to less than one thousand permanent residents.

The Far Western Championships will see the commencement of the 2021 Natrad SSD Four Crowns Series which begins its sixteenth straight year of competition during the winter season in Western Australia.

Eight Time Series Champion Barry Rose begins his defence of the series at an event he has won on six occasions previously, with the 2018 WA Champion set to be tested by an extremely impressive line up of competitors.

Former WA Production Sedan Champion Kye Blight makes a rare appearance in the class and is joined in a two car attack by his younger brother Jake in their Blights Auto Electrics Holden Commodore’s.

2010 National Champion Rod Musarra has had no luck at all racing in Shark Bay previously and will look to change his fortunes this Saturday.

Rick Musarra in the RPM Race Products backed entry who won the Far Western Championships in 2015 along with 2019 runner up Jayden McCuish and Geraldton’s Benny Curtin definite contenders to take victory.

Ashley Baker who finished runner up in the Natrad Four Crowns Series in 2020 brings momentum to the Bay after winning the Production Sedan Trophy day last month at the venue.

Racing begins at 9am Saturday for one of Australia’s biggest day time race meetings.

Nominations (21)

2 Chris Telenta

7 Craig Lenane

9 Mitchell Baker

10 Ashley Baker

12 Ryan Allan

14 Anthony Page

17 Jarrad Fisher

19 Bradley Short

21 Rick Musarra

28 Isacc Arnold

54 Graeme Rafferty

58 Jayden McCuish

61 Jake Blight

69 Brian Child

71 Kye Blight

82 Daniel-Ryan Van-Esch

89 Riley Paech

92 Rod Musarra

99 Benny Curtin

172 Jim McGorman

181 Barry Rose

Former Far Western Championship Winners in Production Sedans.

2000 Ted Wright

2001 John Galvin

2002 Greg Robinson

2003 Garry Sutton

2004 Garry Sutton

2005 Graeme McSweeney

2006 Garry Sutton

2007 Matt Noakes

2008 Greg Robinson

2009 Greg Robinson

2010 Matt Noakes

2011 Barry Rose

2012 Barry Rose

2013 Matt Noakes

2014 Clint Noakes

2015 Rick Musarra

2016 Barry Rose

2017 Barry Rose

2018 Barry Rose

2019 Barry Rose

2020 Beau Riley