Big Field For K Rock Cup

by | Jan 4, 2018 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Big Field Nominated for the 36th Running of the K-Rock Cup at Avalon Raceway this Saturday Night.

The event started back in 1982 and previous winners list features some of the best Super Sedan drivers to ever to hit the track. All of the 24 drivers nominated for Saturday night will be looking to add their names to the winners list for the 2018 edition.

Last years winner Callum Harper will be trying to make it back to back wins. He will have a big battle on his hands as there are a bunch of other drivers looking to take it up to the former National Champion.

Two of the contenders to take on Harper are Dave Gartner and Ash Bergmeier. Both drivers put on a thrilling display at the last meeting held at Avalon in October with Gartner beating Bergmeier by the smallest of margins. Brad Wicks and Mick Nicola Jnr are also coming into this K-rock cup in great form with both of them picking up wins at the last two rounds of the Fun City Victorian Super Sedan Series.

Lucas Roberts, Mick Nicola Snr, Peter Nicola and Lionel West are all previous winners of the K-Rock cup and will be looking to add to their tally on Saturday night.

Apart from the Victorian contingent, there is a strong interstate flavour to the event this year, with Paul Blenkiron, Ryan Alexander, Dave Gartner and Kym Jury all coming across from South Australia, Callum Harper and Adam Beechey from Tasmania, Andrew White from New South Wales and Trent Wilson from Queensland.

Gates open at 4pm, straight into the pit walk till 5, then racing from 6pm.

The Victorian Super Sedan Association would like to thank the following sponsors for their support across the 2017/2018 season.

Fun City Entertainment Complex Shepparton
American Car Sales
Bell Distribution
RJS Tree Services
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Majestic Motorhomes
Traralgon Car City
Bergmeier Engineering
Virtue Homes
King Bros
Provac Poultry Services
American racer
Australian Racing Products Warehouse
Wicks Transport
Speedway Sedans Australia


V0 Lucas Roberts
V1 Peter Nicola
S1 Dave Gartner
V3 Mick Nicola Snr
V5 Anthony Randall
V7 Trent Susol
V8 Jamie Collins
V16 Ash Bergmeier
V17 Brad Wicks
S22 Paul Blenkiron
T22 Callum Harper
V23 Mick Nicola Jnr
N23 Andrew White
V24 Dave Mackenzie
V25 Adam Box
V26 Gavin Cooper
V27 Anthony Nicola
V41 Ben Faulkhead
T41 Adam Beechey
Q44 Trent Wilson
S47 Ryan Alexander
V71 Lionel West
V72 Ian Page
S93 Kym Jury

* Details courtesy of VSSA

Defending K Rock Cup Champion Callum Harper. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography