by | Oct 9, 2022 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release Courtesy of Melvin Media Solutions

Starting on the pole and leading all 28 laps, local Bernie Matkovich has taken his biggest career victory, dominating the East Pilbara Tyre Services Ash Page Memorial at the Hillview Speedway in Newman.

With the missing man formation in place in remembrance of Page, Matkovich was too strong for the field as he defeated Peter Katona and Jim Dixon.

While Matkovich controlled the entire journey, the race was for second between Katona, Josh Fraser and Wayne Leviston, with Leviston doing an almighty job holding off the younger two drivers for the runner-up spot.

A restart with eight laps to go would shake the order up, with Leviston pulling to the infield with mechanical issues and Josh Fraser getting a flat right rear tyre.

But once this happened, it was too late for Katona to lay an attack, with Matkovich winning in front of a huge home crowd on hand for the Hillview Speedway Club 50th Anniversary.

The drive of the night went to Brandon Mongoo. Starting in 14th and donning the number 56, Mongoo raced his way up the field to finish a credible fourth place.

After a night to forget last night, Hunter Downs has rebounded in the strongest way possible, taking the win in the opening round of the Go-Gear JSRA Series.

Despite starting in position three, Downs was never headed, taking the victory over Tyde Lovell and Baxter Trouchet.

Local hope Donny Davis had a feature he would like to forget, being beaten at the jump of the race by Downs and having to pull off at the midway point with mechanical dramas.

Kaden Harrison was unstoppable from pole position in the New Star Junior Sedan Feature as he led every lap from Archie Root and Katie Beadle.

Despite heavy damage for Root and Beadle after a severe crash in the third heat race last night, both drivers came out firing in the feature, with Root getting the better of Beadle in the dying stages.

The Street Stock Feature went to Craig Clayton, who also won the Neville Hampton Memorial over the weekend, being the highest point scorer, while the Production Sedans went to the younger Fraser.


Ash Page Memorial, 28 Laps: 1. W74 Bernie Matkovich, 2. W16 Peter Katona, 3. W48 Jim Dixon, 4. W56 Brandon Mongoo, 5. W3 Rob Fraser, 6. W35 Craig Clayton, 7. W172 Jim McGorman, 8. W15 Daniel Flavel, 9. W21 Colm O’Riordan, 10. W8 Andrew Andreoli. DNF: W86 Wayne Leviston (24), W50 Josh Fraser (23), W98 Adyme Harvey (20), W17 Glenn Sharpe (20), W7 Steven Albin (16), W24 Jeff Pahl (10). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.265. Fastest Lap: 22.104 W74 Bernie Matkovich.

Top Star Junior A-Main, 20 Laps: 1. W29 Hunter Downs, 2. W42 Tyde Lovell, 3. W34 Baxter Trouchet, 4. W71 Chayse Jackson, 5. W89 Jett Downs, 6. W69 Croyd Hughes, 7. W26 Zakiya Costa, 8. W27 Malik Gordon. DNF: W3 Donny Davis (10), W211 Jimahli Nunn Mohammed Dom (8), W11 Brock Lake (7), DNS: W31 Jesse James Samuels. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.928. Fastest Lap: 23.404 W29 Hunter Downs.

New Star Junior A-Main, 15 Laps: 1. W222 Kaden Harrison, 2. W23 Archie Root, 3. W19 Katie Beadle, 4. W20 Wyatt Van Der Mey, 5. W96 Caleb Henry, 6. W25 Jacob Lathwell, 7. W45 Baidyn Matthews (11), 8. W5 Bronte Lathwell (10), 9. W47 Emily Bates (8). DNF: W28 Charlie Grebert (13), W95 Harrison Riegert (13), W11 Hanesshia Nunn Mohammed Dom (13). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.616. Fastest Lap: 23.502 W23 Archie Root.

Street Stocks A-Main, 15 Laps: 1. W35 Craig Clayton, 2. W48 Jim Dixon, 3. W15 Daniel Flavel, 4. W47 Shane Snell, 5. W172 Jim McGorman, 6. W8 Andrew Andreoli. DNF: W11 Reece Jones (14), W7 Steven Albin (10), W21 Colm O’Riordan (9), W98 Adyme Harvey (3). DNS: W55 Paul O’Dwyer. Total Time: 5.41.883. Winning Margin: 2.039. Fastest Lap: 22.321 W35 Craig Clayton.

Production Sedans A-Main, 15 Laps: 1. W50 Josh Fraser, 2. W24 Jeff Pahl, 3. W26 Robbie Trenaman, 4. W3 Rob Fraser, 5. W86 Wayne Leviston, 6. W56 Brandon Mongoo. DNF: W16 Peter Katona (11), W96 Jack McAuley (10), W74 Bernie Matkovich (7), W39 Jeff Kendall (5). DNS: W17 Glenn Sharpe. Total Time: 5.39.532. Winning Margin: 8.926. Fastest Lap: 22.135 W50 Josh Fraser.