Atkins Opens Points Lead at Alexandra

by | Dec 8, 2019 | SSA Modified Sedans, VIC


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Allan Smallwood SSA Media

Missing a few cars to engine difficulties and not having our regular Mildura Competitors, a slightly smaller field greeted the flags at Alexandra Speedway for Round 4 of the series.

Brock Atkins in the Adam Holt Industries Tritech Lubricants car stormed home with the win from Pole Position in heat 1A.

Heat 1B was won by a hard charging Daniel Simpson in the Victoria #1 who wheeled it from outside the second row. Series contender Brody Chrystie climbed up to second from 6th in a hard fought drive.

Heat 2A saw Brad Wicks start from Pole Position which would set up a belting race between Wicks and Graham West in the #56 Torana. West would eventually make the move for first and take the heat win over Wicks.

Brock Atkins made his presence known again, starting from position 6 in heat 2B and sifting his way into first and charging home with the win.

Heat 3A saw Brody Chrystie get the heat win that eluded him in heat 1 when he set sail on open race track. Russell Felsovary was fast for second place.

The duel was set about for heat 3B when Kye Walters and new modified sedan recruit, Damien Miller, battled it out for the heat race win. Kye would make the pass and cross the line in 1st, but would be relegated to second following the race, giving the win back to Miller.

The first running of the season for the True Design Homes Pole Shuffle which provided the thrill of the night. Andrew Blackwell was a standout after qualifying 5th spot lining up against Russell Felsovary in the first shuffle. Blackwell would go on to defeat Felsovary, Simpson, Walters and Chrystie to line up for the pole battle with Brock Atkins. Blackwell led lap 1, but a textbook cross back pass by Atkins. Which would decide the front row to be Atkins on the inside and Blackwell on the out.

19 cars met the green flag for 30 laps of the VMPA Tritech Lubricants Series Round 4 A Main. Cars bunched up into turn 1 for the first time and ran 3 and 4 wide into turns 3 and 4. Todd Atkins would retire early with wiring gremlins playing on the HA36.

Brock Atkins had his work cut out for him early, as Brody Chrystie, Kye Walters, Andrew Blackwell and Russel Felsovary were knocking at the rear door.

VMPA rookie, Lachlan Fitzpatrick in the Maverick Motorsport GV11 would find the wall in turn 3 and bring on the yellow light. Fitzpatrick was towed to the infield and took no further part.

Few laps later would be a 5 car pileup, involving Scott Angus, Graham West, Matt Nelson and others.

The final 9 laps came down to the wire for the top 4, Atkins had heavy pressure from Chrystie and Walters in particular. Chrystie looked low and Walters tried high coming up alongside Atkins panel to panel. This would only encourage Brock to get a move on in the P4 and he ran away with the lead in the final laps opening up a straight away gap. Chrystie would finish 2nd, Walters 3rd and Blackwell 4th.

Atkins would further cement his place at the top of the VMPA series points and drag along with him, Brody Chrystie in 2nd and Kye Walters 3rd.

VMPA now turn their attention to Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham for Round 5 of the series on January 4.

The VMPA proudly partners with the following sponsors.

Tritech Lubricants
True Design Homes
Adam Holt Industries
Blackwell Race Engines
Elite Shock Services
Higgs Contracting
Highline Racewear & Hush Designs
Pakenham Plumbing Services

Official Result

A Main, 1. P4 Brock Atkins, 2. AX32 Brody Christie, 3. A1 Kye Walters, 4. N7 Andrew Blackwell, 5. AV14 Matt Gerlach, 6. VIC1 Daniel Simpson, 7. AX6 Damien Miller, 8. AV11 Jeff Leahy, 9. N42 Scott Angus, 10. GV94 Rachel Pratt, DNF BGO17 Brad Wicks (25), AX15 Ricky Cornwall (24), N11 Jack Ramsdale (20), N13 Russel Felsovary (17), AX61 Matt Nelson (17), BGO56 Graham West (17), GV11 Lachlan Fitzpatrick (15), HA36 Todd Atkins (1), DNS N37 Cameron Dike

Ends Release

Photo & Article Courtesy of VMPA