by | Jan 14, 2022 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans

Image by 44 Photography.

Gympie’s Aidan Raymont is the high points man after night one of the 2022 Pro1 Race Parts T-Bar Nationals at the Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway in Queensland.

Raymont collected one of the two mini features held on the Friday Night with Toowoomba Shane Macdonald local claiming the other aboard his Linmac Automotive Holden Commodore.

Forty Four SSA Modified Sedans from across Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria & Tasmania packed the pit area for night one of one the country’s highest paying race meetings in the country for a Speedway Sedans Australia class.

Eight ten lap heat races were held across the evening with spirited two and three wide racing happening throughout the program with many cars showing some wounds from their battles.

Toowoomba locals Shane Macdonald, Rodney Pammenter & Brisbane’s Darran Lester enjoyed a brilliant three car battle for the lead in the first twenty lap mini feature race.

Lester’s challenge would unfortunately end on lap fifteen as he cut down a tyre on his Ford Falcon as Macdonald shook off the challenge from Pammenter to collect the $500 winners cheque from Pammenter with Todd Atkins wheeling his Club 36 Innovations Ford Falcon from Hamilton in Victoria into third by race end.

Brock Atkins got the jump on Aidan Raymont in the second Mini Feature Race before loosing the lead on lap seven as he began to fight an ill handling race car.

The caution lights came at around the same time for David Jacobi who made heavy contact with the concrete wall severely damaging his South West Metals Holden Commodore.

During the stoppage Brock Atkins headed infield to allow the officials to inspect the problem with his Ford Falcon with a broken rear arm the cause of his woes.

Atkins continued in the race with National & Tasmanian Champion Kye Walters working his way from fourth past both Atkins and Tasmanian Jakobe Jetson into second by the end of the twenty laps.

Many teams have plenty of work to do overnight ahead of the final night of competition at the Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

Official Results of Night One of the 2022 Pro1 Race Parts T-Bar Nationals

Heat One, Ten Laps- 1. MK19 Wayne Gilroy, 2. T25 Adam Jorgensen, 3. T28 Hayden Stephensen, 4. RK42 Brenton Scott, 5. N11 Greg Worling, 6. CR14 Cameron Taylor, 7. CR24 David Head, 8. CR32 Nathan Macdonald, 9. CN6 Steve Manly, 10. MK56 Darren Severs, 11. CR30 Leonie Knight, 12. V62 Kasey Garlick, QUICK TIME- MK19 Wayne Gilroy 16.138.

Heat Two, Ten Laps- 1. Q1 Mick Shelford, 2. CR27 Shane Macdonald, 3. CR8 Rodney Pammenter, 4. V0 Brock Atkins, 5. T8 Wade Cleary, 6. CR66 Chris Evans, 7. CR72 Shane Langton, 8. CR93 Jason Beer, 9. CR111 Peter White, 10. SC22 Shannon Blackburn, QUICK TIME- Q1 Mick Shelford 15.738.

Heat Three, Ten Laps- 1. T7 Jakobe Jetson, 2. N36 David Jacobi, 3. B59 Darran Lester, 4. A1 Kye Walters, 5. CR77 Mick Langton, 6. CR68 Nic Moncrieff, 7. B12 Jake Hawkins, 8. SC55 Steve Blackburn, 9. V94 Rachel Pratt (7), DNF RK71 Kev Young (2), N81 Max Clarke (0), QUICK TIME- T7 Jakoke Jetson 15.480.

Heat Four, Ten Laps- 1. V36 Todd Atkins, 2. SC23 Tim Atkin, 3. G28 Aidan Raymont, 4. G27 Mark Raymont, 5. V61 Matt Nelson, 6. CR99 Jordan Cunningham, 7. MK75 Myles Gilroy, 8. CN8 Scott Vella, 9. SB11 Chris Hams, DNF T6 Corey Jetson (4), G5 Brett Baxter (4), QUICK TIME- V36 Todd Atkins 15.775.

Heat Five, Ten Laps- 1. G27 Mark Raymont, 2. T28 Hayden Stephensen, 3. CR32 Nathan Macdonald, 4. MK19 Wayne Gilroy, 5. T25 Adam Jorgensen, 6. T8 Wade Cleary, 7. SC23 Tim Atkin, 8. B12 Jake Hawkins, 9. T7 Jakobe Jetson (8), DNF CR30 Leonie Knight (2), N11 Greg Worling (1), CN6 Steve Manly (0), QUICK TIME- CR32 Nathan Macdonald 15.684.

Heat Six, Ten Laps- 1. V0 Brock Atkins, 2. A1 Kye Walters, 3. CR99 Jordan Cunningham, 4. CR66 Chris Evans, 5. CR72 Shane Langton, 6. CR93 Jason Beer, 7. V61 Matt Nelson, 8. V36 Todd Atkins, 9. CR77 Mick Langton, 10. MK56 Darren Severs, QUICK TIME- V0 Brock Atkins 15.735.

Heat Seven, Ten Laps- 1. G28 Aidan Raymont, 2. N81 Max Clarke, 3. B59 Darran Lester, 4. MK75 Myles Gilroy, 5. V94 Rachel Pratt, 6. N36 David Jacobi, 7. RK42 Brenton Scott, 8. SC55 Steve Blackburn, 9. RK71 Kev Young (9), DNF CR68 Nic Moncrieff (7), V62 Kasey Garlick (3), QUICK TIME- N81 Max Clarke 15.809.

Heat Eight, Ten Laps- 1. CR8 Rodney Pammenter, 2. CR27 Shane Macdonald, 3. CR111 Peter White, 4. Q1 Mick Shelford, 5. CR24 David Head, 6. CR14 Cameron Taylor, 7. CN8 Scott Vella, 8. SB11 Chris Hams, DNF SC22 Shannon Blackburn (1).

Second Chance Qualifier, 12 Laps- 1. V94 Rachel Pratt, 2. CR93 Jason Beer, 3. MK56 Darren Severs, 4. B12 Jake Hawkins, 5. T6 Corey Jetson, 6. SC55 Steve Blackburn, 7. N11 Greg Worling, DNF CN8 Scott Vella (9), CN6 Steve Manly (8), SC22 Shannon Blackburn (7), QUICK TIME- V94 Rachel Pratt 15.861.

Mini Feature 1, 20 Laps- 1. CR27 Shane Macdonald, 2. CR8 Rodney Pammenter, 3. V36 Todd Atkins, 4. MK19 Wayne Gilroy, 5. Q1 Mick Shelford, 6. N81 Max Clarke, 7. RK42 Brenton Scott, 8. T25 Adam Jorgensen, 9. CR72 Shane Langton, 10. CR111 Peter White, 11. V94 Rachel Pratt, 12. CR14 Cameron Taylor, 13. T8 Wade Cleary, DNF B59 Darran Lester (15), T6 Corey Jetson (11), CN6 Steve Manly (5), DQ MK56 Darren Severs (1), QUICK TIME- B59 Darran Lester 15.761.

Mini Feature 2, 20 Laps- 1. G28 Aidan Raymont, 2. A1 Kye Walters, 3. V0 Brock Atkins, 4. T7 Jakobe Jetson, 5. G27 Mark Raymont, 6. CR32 Nathan Macdonald, 7. CR99 Jordan Cunningham, 8. T28 Hayden Stephensen, 9. CR24 David Head, 10. CR66 Chris Evans, 11. CR77 Mick Langton, 12. B12 Jake Hawkins (19), 13. CN8 Scott Vella (19), DNF CR93 Jason Beer (18), SC55 Steve Blackburn (13), V61 Matt Nelson (11), MK75 Myles Gilroy (4), N36 David Jacobi (4), QUICK TIME- T7 Jakobe Jetson 15.789

Overall Points after Night One

1. G28 Aidan Raymont 79

2. CR8 Rodney Pammenter 78

3. CR27 Shane Macdonald 76

4. V0 Brock Atkins 71

5. MK19 Wayne Gilroy 70

6. Q1 Mick Shelford 69

7. G27 Mark Raymont 69

8. A1 Kye Walters 64

9. T28 Hayden Stephensen 64

10. V36 Todd Atkins 60

11. T7 Jakoke Jetson 58

12. T25 Adam Jorgensen 54

13. B59 Darran Lester 53

14. CR99 Jordan Cunningham 47

15. N81 Max Clarke 46

16. CR32 Nathan Macdonald 44

17. N36 David Jacobi 41

18. RK42 Brenton Scott 39

19. CR111 Peter White 39

20. CR66 Chris Evans 38

21. SC23 Tim Atkin 36

22. CR72 Shane Langton 33

23. CR24 David Head 33

24. T8 Wade Cleary 31

25. MK75 Myles Gilroy 29

26. CR14 Cameron Taylor 29

27. CR77 Mick Langton 28

28. V94 Rachel Pratt 28

29. V61 Matt Nelson 26

30. CR93 Jason Beer 23

31. B12 Jake Hawkins 23

32. CN8 Scott Vella 22

33. SC55 Steve Blackburn 18

34. N11 Greg Worling 16

35. CR68 Nic Moncrieff 14

36. SB11 Chris Hams 11

37. CN6 Steve Manly 11

38. T6 Corey Jetson 10

39. SC22 Shannon Blackburn 9

40. RK71 Kev Young 9

41. MK55 Darren Severs 8

42. CR30 Leonie Knight 7

43. V62 Kasey Garlick 5

44. G5 Brett Baxter 3