20/20 To Start New Esperance Season

by | Nov 29, 2017 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The sixth annual Street Stock 20/20 Challenge will be held this Saturday Night at the Esperance Speedway located in the South East of Western Australia.

This years Street Stock 20/20 Challenge is supported by the Jetty Resort and the Bay of Isles Furniture Comfort Style Esperance and has attracted one of the highest quality fields ever seen for the event.

The meeting doubles as the opening meeting of the 2017/2018 season for the Esperance Speedway Association who have put a lot of work into their venue during the off season.

Esperances Street Stock 20/20 Challenge is the only two driver event in Western Australia for the division and continues to grow in stature every season.

Heading the nominations is three time winner of the Street Stock 20/20 Challenge Jack Barnewall. Barnewall is no stranger to the south coast venue and will be joined by his co driver from last season Aaron Murphy.

Collie duo Cody Avins and Ethan Genev form a tough pairing in Avins Ford Falcon with Kieran Norman and Matthew Iwanow another strong combination. Iwanow finished runner up in a National Junior Sedan Title at the Esperance venue back in 2014.

Phil Lycholit also of Collie has had a strong start to the season and is joined in this event by world famous Freestyle Motorcross rider Josh Sheehan. Sheehan originally from Donnybrook travels the globe with his career and will be a popular competitor this Saturday as he makes his Speedway Sedan debut.

The host club is well represented with the Macalpine brothers Josh and Hamish teaming up in a Holden Commodore with Hamish winning in this event in 2015.

Racing starts at 6.00pm WST this Saturday with Production Sedans and Junior Sedans also on the program.

Previous Winners

2012/2013 Jack Barnewall/Dean Shore
2013/2014 Ray Leonard/Evan Wakefield
2014/2015 Hamish Macalpine/Johnny Terriaca
2015/2016 Jack Barnewall/Dean Shore
2016/2017 Jack Barnewall/Aaron Murphy


W00 Hamish Macalpine/Josh Macalpine
W2 Branden Fraser/Peter Fraser
W3 Luke Fraser/Alec Melvin
W4 Dylan Williams/Ben Strautins
W16 Jack Barnewall & Aaron Murphy
W17 Philip Lycholit/Josh Sheehan
W18 Gary Leeson/Bronty Humphrys
W20 Brad Hayes/Alex Fraser
W31 Cody Avins/Ethan Genev
W38 Bob Wakefield/Peter Walker
W39 Zane Humphrys/Kody Kelman
W41 Travis Clarke/Steven Reeves
W46 Todd Barrett/Sean Barrett
W70 Barry Hunter/Scott Hunter
W81 Damien Amato/Tristan Stroet
W94 Kieran Norman/Matthew Iwanow
W97 Michael Constable/Jeff Pahl
W98 Jarred Bridges/Josh Stewart
W99 Kyran Bridges/Brenton Bridges

*Details courtesy of Allan Smallwood Jnr

Ethan Genev will pair up with Cody Avins in a very strong pairing for the 20/20. Photo courtesy of Fastlane Photography.