by | Oct 24, 2021 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols, Images Courtesy of Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway

Matty Pascoe has taken out Round Two of the McCosker Super Sedan Series at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

Campaigning an Ian Boettcher owned Dominator with a CT525 crate engine, Pascoe struggled in heat race action leading to a 12th placed starting position.Rookie Michael Larsen was the surprise packet of the evening.

Larsen was second in points after the heat race action and would go on to defeat Sean Black in the top eight dash to secure pole position for the thirty lap main event.

Black would win the start and lead lap one, before surrendering the lead to Larsen on lap two. Larsen set a cracking pace at the front, keeping Black at bay in second, and Mitchell Gee in third.

Hayden Brims started just inside the top ten, and made steady progress to be entrenched in the top five after nine laps.

Pascoe shadowed Brims through the field and also moved into the top five after twelve laps.

A big crash on lap fourteen took out multiple cars, and brought the field back together. Larsen continued to thwart the challenges of Black, Gee, Brims and Pascoe.

Gee and Brims came together whilst battling for third on lap eighteen, seeing Brims sent to the rear of the field.

Pascoe would start on the outside of the first row behind Larsen, and would fire around the outside of Black and Larsen into the lead.

Black would move by Larsen for second and set about chasing down Pascoe. It would be to no avail and Pascoe would secure a comfortable win four seconds clear of Black in second.

Brims recovered brilliantly to surge back to third.

Larsen secured his first top five finish in the series crossing the line in fourth, and Mick Nicola Snr would round out the top five.

Official Result

A Main, 30 Laps- 1. Q35 Matt Pascoe, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. N77 Hayden Brims, 4. Q8 Michael Larsen, 5. V11 Michael Nicola, 6. Q96 Josh McLaren, 7. Q36 Mitchell Gee, 8. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 9. Q47 Barry Craft, 10. Q31 Travis Barron (28), DNF Q10 Steve Jordan (22), Q33 Justin Randall (22), Q34 Wayne Randall (14), Q4 Leigh Williams (14), Q95 Bob McCosker (14), Q44 Trent Wilson (14), RK31 Brendan Doyle (6), Q71 Shayne Lau (2).

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Redcliffe Towing

Superior Pak

Integrity Warranties

Rockhampton Mazda

Kempy Race Pipes

Brims Costal Cement

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Cush Clothing

Topline Australia

Tasman Racewear

Qld Speedway Spares

AFCO Shock Doctor

Fusion Graphics & Signs

Ash Media