Speedway Sedans Australia News

Kane Wins At Toowoomba

The Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Ian Boettcher Race Parts, RMC Excavations and L Cleaning Services headed to the Hi-Tec Oils Raceway, Toowoomba on Saturday night with rain being the winner.

With the event transferred to the Sunday, not all drivers could stay on, but eleven drivers were able to make the event, with Darren Kane, Wayne Randall, Matty Pascoe and Sean Black successful in the four qualifying heats.

Darren Kane and Matty Pascoe would start on the front row for the thirty lap decider, with Wayne Randall and Bob McCosker starting on the second row, with McCosker recording his best qualifying position of the season.

Kane would take the lead immediately from Pascoe, with Sean Black moving to third at the expense of Randall and McCosker on lap five. McCoskers great run came to an end on lap six, retiring to the infield.

Black then moved to second deposing Pascoe to third, with Ed Doherty moving rapidly through the field, moving to fourth on lap seven after starting at the back of the field.

With no stoppages in the race, Kane started to open a big lead over the opposition, and soon would be lapping the field.
Behind Kane, Black and Pascoe would have a good battle, but Kane was more than half a lap ahead, lapping fourth placed Doherty in the concluding stages.

Kane would defeat Black by 8.717 seconds, one of the biggest winning margins of the entire series. Behind Pascoe who finished third, Ed Doherty would record his best result of the series with a credible fourth, finishing ahead of Wayne and Justin Randall who rounded out the top six.

Earlier Kane and then Pascoe lowered the track record, with Pascoe setting a staggering time of 13.599 seconds.

The series continues this weekend, heading to the Lismore Showgrounds.

:: Super Sedans

Heat 1, 8 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. Q39 Bob McCosker, 3. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 4. N3 Tania Smith, 5. Q91 Ed Doherty, 6. Q72 Shayne Lau. Time: 1.51.015, Winning Margin: 7.204, Fastest Lap: 13.636 Q36 Darren Kane

Heat 2, 8 Laps: 1. Q6 Wayne Randall, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. Q20 Nicholas Okeefe, 4. Q0 Justin Randall, 5. Q56 David Okeefe. Time: 1.53.900, Winning Margin: 3.356, Fastest Lap: 13.985 Q6 Wayne Randall

Heat 3, 8 Laps: 1. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 2. Q6 Wayne Randall, 3. Q39 Bob McCosker, 4. Q20 Nicholas Okeefe, 5. Q72 Shayne Lau (7 laps). Time: 1.52.549, Winning Margin: 4.773, Fastest Lap: 13.599 Q1 Matty Pascoe

Heat 4, 8 Laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. Q36 Darren Kane, 3. N3 Tania Smith, 4. Q0 Justin Randall, 5. Q91 Ed Doherty, 6. Q56 David OKeefe. Time: 1.58.811, Winning Margin: 2.941, Fastest Lap: 14.124 Q36 Darren Kane

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. Q26 Sean Black, 3. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 4. Q91 Ed Doherty (29 laps), 5. Q6 Wayne Randall (29), 6. Q0 Justin Randall (0), 7. Q56 David OKeefe (28), 8. Q20 Nicholas OKeefe (28), 9. Q72 Shayne Lau (27). DNF: 10. N3 Tania Smith (20), 11. Q39 Bob McCosker (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 8.717, Fastest Lap: 14.019 Q36 Darren Kane

Photo couresy of Angryman Photography

Australian Racing Rules & Regulations 2019

Live Audio 

Speedway Sedans Australia, Audio Channel 1

Saturday, 8 June 2019 Maryborough QLD, Audio Channel 2

Speedway Sedans Australia, Audio Channel 3