Speedway Sedans Australia News

Gartner Breaks Through In SA Street Stock Title

Steven Gartner, after many years of trying, has finally broken through, to win his maiden State Title, when he won an exciting South Australian Street Stock Title at the Whyalla Speedway on Saturday night.

Gartner and Nigel Reichstein would start on the front row after nine qualifying heats, on a highly competitive night of racing which saw nine different winners in the heats, Gartner and Reichstein record a win, a second and third placing to win the front row.

Rhys Heinrich and Sam Brumfield would start on the second row, with Jayden Edwards and Carey Weston starting from positions five and six.

Gartner would get the best of the start, leading Reichstein and Heinrich through the opening laps. Reichstein hounded Gartner in the early exchanges, taking the lead on lap five, with Brumfield and Edwards fourth and fifth.

Rhys Heinrich would be the only major withdrawal in the front half of the field, meeting his demise on lap twelve, elevating Brumfield to third.

Gartner was in a great battle with Reichstein for the lead, as both searched for their first title win. Reichstein led for the majority of the race, with Gartner making the decisive move, just three laps from the finish, to regain the lead.

Gartner was able to hold on to narrowly defeat Reichstein, with Brumfield a third of a lap behind in third place, just ahead of Edwards and Victorian Corey Sandow.

Gartner had previously finished second in the SA State Title in 2016, while for Reichstein it was his first podium. Sam Brumfield who finished third had previously been the runner-up in 2003.

Ben Whitehead who earlier won the B Main, did a great job to finish eighth in the title behind Jason Duell.

:: SA Street Stock Title

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. NT15 Sam Brumfield, 2. S32 Steven Gartner, 3. S27 Cade Cox, 4. V22 Corey Sandow, 5. N11 Rhys Heinrich, 6. W40 Andrew Norton, 7. W12 Kade Helms, 8. S57 Jemma Chapman, 9. S23 Ben Whitehead. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.406, Fastest Lap: 21.946 NT15 Sam Brumfield

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. S86 Bailey Heinrich, 2. S68 Paul Hayes, 3. S14 Nigel Reichstein, 4. S17 Carey Weston, 5. T110 Terry Hammond, 6. S22 Darren Flatman, 7. S55 Matt Maynard, 8. S36 Adrian Jones (0), 9. S96 Wayne Fosteris (0). Time: 3.37.016, Winning Margin: 4.523, Fastest Lap: 21.244 S86 Bailey Heinrich

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. S87 Jayden Edwards, 2. S71 Andy Maxwell, 3. S58 Neville Nitschke, 4. S18 Jason Duell, 5. Q99 Peter Thompson, 6. S59 Hayden Jolly, 7. S116 Jarrod Hamilton (7 laps). Time: 3.27.739, Winning Margin: 6.795, Fastest Lap: 20.228 S87 Jayden Edwards

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. S17 Carey Weston, 2. S27 Cade Cox, 3. S96 Wayne Fosteris, 4. Q99 Peter Thompson, 5. S57 Jemma Chapman. DNF: 6. S116 Jarrod Hamilton (6 laps), 7. S22 Darren Flatman (6), 8. W12 Kade Helms (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.344, Fastest Lap: 19.200 S17 Carey Weston

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. S14 Nigel Reichstein, 2. N11 Rhys Heinrich, 3. S18 Jason Duell, 4. S86 Bailey Heinrich, 5. S59 Haydon Jolly, 6. S87 Jayden Edwards, 7. V22 Corey Sandow, 8. S55 Matt Maynard. DNF: 9. S23 Ben Whitehead (8 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.305, Fastest Lap: 18.334 S14 Nigel Reichstein

Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. S32 Steven Gartner, 2. NT15 Sam Brumfield, 3. S58 Neville Nitschke, 4. W40 Andrew Norton, 5. T110 Terry Hammond, 6. S71 Andrew Maxwell. DNF: 7. S68 Paul Hayes (3 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.606, Fastest Lap: 18.782 NT15 Sam Brumfield.

Heat 7, 10 Laps: 1. N11 Rhys Heinrich, 2. S14 Nigel Reichstein, 3. S32 Steven Gartner, 4. NT15 Sam Brumfield, 5. S59 Haydon Jolly, 6. Q99 Peter Thompson, 7. S55 Matt Maynard. DNF: 8. S116 Jarrod Hamilton (4 laps), 9. S86 Bailey Heinrich (3). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.785, Fastest Lap: 17.418 N11 Rhys Heinrich

Heat 8, 10 Laps: 1. V22 Corey Sandow, 2. S71 Andy Maxwell, 3. S58 Neville Nitschke, 4. S17 Carey Weston, 5. S23 Ben Whitehead, 6. W40 Andrew Norton, 7. S96 Wayne Fosteris. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.957, Fastest Lap: 18.554 S71 Andy Maxwell

Heat 9, 10 Laps: 1. S22 Darren Flatman, 2. S87 Jayden Edwards, 3. T110 Terry Hammond, 4. S27 Cade Cox, 5. S18 Jason Duell, 6. S68 Paul Hayes, 7. S57 Jemma Chapman. DNF: 8. W12 Kade Helms (4 laps). Time: 3.09.757, Winning Margin: 3.153, Fastest Lap: 18.436 S87 Jayden Edwards

B Main, 10 Laps: 1. S23 Ben Whitehead, 2. S59 Haydon Jolly, 3. W40 Andrew Norton, 4. S96 Wayne Fosteris, 5. S55 Matt Maynard, 6. S57 Jemma Chapman, 7. S116 Jarrod Hamilton (9 laps), 8. W12 Kade Helms (9). Time: 3.10.749, Winning Margin: 0.813, Fastest Lap: 18.154 S23 Ben Whitehead

A Main, 25 Laps: 1. S32 Steven Gartner, 2. S14 Nigel Reichstein, 3. NT15 Sam Brumfield, 4. S87 Jayden Edwards, 5. V22 Corey Sandow, 6. S86 Bailey Heinrich, 7. S18 Jason Duell, 8. S23 Ben Whitehead, 9. S17 Carey Weston, 10. S59 Haydon Jolly (24 laps), 11. Q99 Peter Thompson (23), 12. S96 Wayne Fosteris (23). DNF: 13. N11 Rhys Heinrich (13), 14. W40 Andrew Norton (12), 15. S58 Neville Nitschke (9), 16. S71 Andrew Maxwell (8), 17. S68 Paul Hayes (8), 18. S27 Cade Cox (7), 19. T110 Terry Hammond (2), 20. S22 Darren Flatman (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.210, Fastest Lap: 17.538 S32 Steven Gartner

Australian Racing Rules & Regulations 2019

Live Audio 

Speedway Sedans Australia, Audio Channel 1

Saturday, 8 June 2019 Maryborough QLD, Audio Channel 2

Speedway Sedans Australia, Audio Channel 3