Speedway Sedans Australia News

Ben Riley Wins Another Close One

Ben Riley has held off all the challengers to win the Feature race at the Gulf Western and Independent Oils Raceway on Saturday night, ultimately leading the Street Stock main event for all twenty laps.

Riley and Matt Templar would start on the front row, but Corey Bauld moved to second on the opening lap, demoting Templar to third.

Plenty of positional changes occurred in the opening laps with Mitch Allison making up several positions and moved to third mid race at the expense of Templar. Soon after Allison would retire, as Riley continued to lead narrowly over Bauld, who was soon joined by Templar again, in a great three way battle for the lead.

The battle raged all the way to the chequered flag, with just two car lengths separating the trio after twenty laps. Damien Hall and Jarrod Rogers would be the only other drivers left on the lead lap.

:: Street Stocks

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T24 Ben Riley, 2. T44 John Riley, 3. T4 Steve Harvey, 4. T11 Matt Crawford, 5. T55 Nick Anderson, 6. T72 Steven Pyne, 7. T58 Warrick Lee, 8. T32 Terri Farrell (9 laps), 9. T71 Brodie Poole (9), 10. T6 Bec Hammond (8). Time: 3.21.854, Winning Margin: 3.734, Fastest Lap: 17.821 T44 John Riley

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T88 Matt Templar, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T25 Damien Hall, 4. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 5. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 6. T33 Brad Farrell, 7. T78 Mitch Allison, 8. T52 Kurt Chilcott, 9. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 10. T8 Aaron Wilton (9 laps). Time: 3.17.654, Winning Margin: 2.666, Fastest Lap: 18.058 T25 Damien Hall

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T24 Ben Riley, 2. T44 John Riley, 3. T72 Steven Pyne, 4. T58 Warrick Lee, 5. T11 Matt Crawford, 6. T32 Terri Farrell, 7. T55 Nick Anderson, 8. T71 Brodie Poole, 9. T4 Steven Harvey, 10. T6 Bec Hammond (9 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.656, Fastest Lap: 17.829 T44 John Riley

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. T78 Mitch Allison, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T88 Matt Templar, 4. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 5. T25 Damien Hall, 6. T33 Brad Farrell, 7. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 8. T52 Kurt Chilcott, 9. T8 Aaron Wilton, 10. T28 Dale Riley Jnr (8 laps). Time: 3.30.259, Winning Margin: 0.183, Fastest Lap: 18.039 T78 Mitch Allison

Feature, 20 Laps: 1. T24 Ben Riley, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T88 Matt Templar, 4. T25 Damien Hall, 5. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 6. T58 Warrick Lee (19 laps), 7. T15 Daniel Cunningham (19), 8. T52 Kurt Chilcott (19), 9. T32 Terri Farrell (19), 10. T8 Aaron Wilton (19), 11. T71 Brodie Poole (19), 12. T6 Bec Hammond (18), 13. T11 Matt Crawford (16), 14. T78 Mitch Allison (16), 15. T44 John Riley (16), 16. T28 Dale Riley Jnr (12), 17. T33 Brad Farrell (5). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.532, Fastest Lap: 17.874 T24 Ben Riley

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography
Photo of Ben Riley is full flight.

Australian Racing Rules & Regulations 2018

Live Audio 

Speedway Sedans Australia Audio Channel 1

Saturday 23 March 2019, Collie Speedway, Audio Channel 2

Saturday 23 March 2019, Latrobe, Audio Channel 3